Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books You Recently Added To Your To-Be-Read List

Screen Shot 2015-03-17 at 12.28.53 AM

Hiya, it’s that time of the week for a Top Ten Tuesday post! This week’s topic by The Broke and the Bookish is 10 recently added To-Be-Read books, so this should be rather simple!


IMG_2588The Diviners
by Libba Bray

Genres: [Young Adult] Fantasy, Mystery, Horror

I was instantly intrigued by this one because it has my favorite elements: historical fiction and fantasy. It’s set in the 1920s and there’s a murder.


IMG_2589

Unshadowed
by Kelly Creagh

Genres: [YA] Paranormal, Gothic

This is actually the second book to the Nevermore trilogy. I read Nevermore about two years ago, and really liked it! The first book was very unique and mysterious, with a bunch of gothic elements and a myriad of Edgar Allen Poe references (obviously). It’s also the first time I’ve read a ya fantasy series about a protagonist that’s a cheerleader.


IMG_2590Seraphina
by Rachel Hartman

Genres: [YA] High Fantasy, Dragons

My best friend actually read this when it was first released and raved about how great it was. I knew she loved high and epic fantasies, but I never added the book to my TBR until recently when I bought a copy. And I’m actually not that much of a fan of dragon books (I’ve tried Eragon, The Dragon Rider, and The Fire Within), but I’ll give this a shot!


IMG_2595Behind the Beautiful Forevers
by Katherine Boo

Genres: Nonfiction, Social Issues

So this is a book I’ve been meaning to read forever and have recently added it to my TBR shelf. It reminds me of Half the Sky because it addresses poverty in certain areas of India. These books are usually eye-openers for me and inspiring.


IMG_2594

The Aviator’s Wife
by Melanie Benjamin

Genres: Historical Fiction

This one is about what the title induces. It’s a loose biography of the wife of Charles Lindbergh, Anne Morrow. From the synopsis I read, I’m pretty sure this will be more of a romanticized telling of her life than real biographical documentation. As long as it’s well written, that’s fine with me.


to-all-the-boys-ive-loved-before-9781442426702_hrTo All the Boys I’ve Loved Before
by Jenny Han

Genres: [YA] Contemporary, Romance

I read some of Jenny Han’s books before and have found her work okay. However, this new series of hers have sparked my interest. It’s about a girl, Lara Jean, who has never openly admitted to her crushes and writes unsent letters to these boys about her feelings. And one day she discovers the secret letters are sent.


Ru1029008-gf
by Kim Thúy

Genres: Autobiographical Fiction, Historical Fiction

I actually didn’t know about this one until Joey mentioned it in one of his blog posts a few weeks ago. From the little I read about it, it’s a story that is somewhat based off of Thúy’s journey from postwar Vietnam to Quebec in the 70s. I’m even more eager to read it because my dad was one of those “boat people” that I saw Thúy talk about it an interview. Growing up, my dad’s told me some stories about his voyage and his initial reaction to the beauty of the final destination (in my dad’s case, the States). This’ll also be my first time reading a Viet author’s work in English. Hopefully it won’t disappoint.


71BHySg5phLOf Metal and Wishes
by Sarah Fine

Genres: [YA] Science Fiction, Dystopian, Steampunk

This one is about a girl named Wen that hears the whispers of ghosts, that grant wishes, at her father’s medical clinic (why medical clinic though? It’s kinda of stereotypical. But I suppose, there’s death there and thus wandering ghosts). Soon she decides to ask the ghosts to grant a wish after a couple of men ridicule her, and she soon feels guilty for the impulsive wish. This one sounds promising, I wonder how the steampunk elements come into play.  I just added this to my goodreads TBR shelf today actually.


Richelle-Mead-Soundless-Cover-by-Zhang-JingnaSoundless
by Richelle Mead

Genres: [YA] Fantasy, Mythology

You guys all know I usually love anything by Richelle Mead. Soundless hasn’t been released yet, but this will be her first standalone fantasy novel. And it has Asian mythology and folklore. I’m beyond excited for this one.


.IMG_2591IMG_2592

The Fault in Our Stars and Paper Towns
by John Green

Genres: [YA] Contemporary, Realistic Fiction

And my last one is actually two books. John Green has received a lot of hype since I’ve been middle school, but I have yet to read any of his. The Paper Towns trailer was kind of what set me off into buying the box set and adding it to my TBR shelf.


Looks like this week relied heavily on a purple and Asian theme, hope you guys don’t mind! What was on your list this week? 🙂

26 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books You Recently Added To Your To-Be-Read List

  1. Angelized1st says:

    Love your list! I haven’t read any of these, but quite a few sound interesting. Check that. I read The Fault in Our Stars last summer. Completely devastated me. I just bought Waiting for Alaska and Paper Towns. As a Richelle Mead fan, I’m also excited for Soundless. Sounds pretty interesting.

    Like

    • sumlynnnguyen says:

      I honestly don’t really know what The Fault in Our Stars is about but I have heard that it will induce such feelings. I’m not ready to read it yet! T.T (And sorry for replying so late, I never got a notification for your comment. Weird…)

      Like

  2. drizzleandhurricanebooks says:

    I can’t wait for Jenny Han’s book either ! Loved the first book of this series, so I’m definitely looking forward to the next! 🙂
    You should read John Green’s books, those are my favorites ! Well, my personal favorite is Looking for Alaska, but I love all of his books! I hope you’ll enjoy them, too ! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • sumlynnnguyen says:

      One of my friends read it and didn’t care for it, so I kind of pushed it back on my next-to-read list. But I’m glad you enjoyed it! 😀 (It’s going to move back up on the list now.)

      Like

  3. Lifewithcassandra says:

    Lol. No books in common this week. So true , but to all the boys I’ve loved before has been on my infinite TBR list for quite sometime, and I’m really glad John green is on yours . You better get on with it .😄

    Liked by 1 person

  4. mylittleemo says:

    The Diviners is one of my all time favorite books! I really like the characters and the plot. Evie is literally the sassiest protagonist ever. The sequel is coming out this year so I definitely think you should read it sometime soon 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • sumlynnnguyen says:

      Awesome! Some of my friends didn’t like it, but I was hoping it’d be good. But now knowing it’s made your all-time favorite list, I’m definitely going to move that one up on my next-to-read list! ^.^

      Like

  5. infatuatedbywords says:

    I’m right there with you when it comes to books about dragons. But how can you not fall in love with that beautiful cover?! I have a copy too. If anything, even if I don’t read it soon, it looks awesome on the book shelf 🙂 Can’t wait to see what you think of it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • sumlynnnguyen says:

      I agree, it’s gorgeous! Hopefully the other epic/high fantasy elements will make me like it though! I hope you get to read it as well, then we could have a virtual book discussion with tea (or whatever beverage you like)! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Blogging takes hours, commenting takes minutes. Please don't hesitate to share your thoughts. ^.^

