Big Hero 6

Disney_BigHero6_Poster_BaymaxWhen Big Hero 6 was released, all of my nerdy engineering friends were going to see this. I’m not a huge fan of robotics in general, so I decided to sit this one out. Months later, my expectations were still low despite the awards and rave reviews the film received, because the creators of this film also produced Frozen, a movie I wasn’t too fond of and found to be overhyped. However, now that I’ve watched it, I regret waiting this long to see it. This beautiful animation way exceeded my expectations. Big Hero 6 is, hands down, my new favorite animation of the year (not that I watch that many to begin with but that’s beside the point).

Many of the ideas in the movie were fictional and stretched the imagination, however there is a lot of truth and realism. At some point of our lives (or all of our lives for a few, like me), we just don’t know how we fit in and what our purpose is in life. It’s hard determining a path, and our decisions rapidly change. This sense of confusion and loss of identity can be at any age, but for Hiro Hamada it may be younger than most others. At 13 he graduated from high school. Hiro’s an apparent genius, but he chooses to waste away his knowledge by participating in illegal robot fights, leaving his older brother, Tadashi, to save him after each brawl. Tadashi, sick of bailing Hiro out and seeing Hiro misuse his intellectual capability, decides to give Hiro a lift to his university. There Hiro meets Tadashi’s quirky friends and sees the potential of what creative minds can do. Hiro also meets Tadashi’s newest invention, Baymax, a marshmallow-like and huggable robot whose purpose is to help and serve people with medical assistance. Early on, we see Tadashi’s selfless and good mind, and how Hiro admires his older brother. After the trip, Hiro is inspired by his brother and becomes determined in getting into the university. I don’t want to spoil the plot any further for those that haven’t seen it, but from there, some events arise that lead to an action-packed adventure.

Like I mentioned, I just finished watching the movie and I can’t contain my excitement. This movie was exceptionally well done and entertaining. Like all Disney movies, there was humor, adventure, and realistic underlying morals. The storyline was creative and clever. The plot was thrilling and somewhat unpredictable. The beautiful art was very 3-dimensional and reminds me of Tangled and Frozen (no surprise). The language and content was mild, so the PG rating was fitting. Also, there was no romance, just a lot of great friendship on display. And like I said, the film introduced countless of morals appropriate for a younger audience. For example: don’t sell yourself short, never give up, think from a new angle, grieve if you need to, let go, the list goes on.

Basically, I can’t find anything wrong with this film, and you shouldn’t let anything stop you from enjoying this animation if you haven’t already. Well except if you have work or school. This may not be the smartest time to watch a movie for me, since I have a lot of my last midterms of the semester this week, but hey, I needed a break. I’m so glad I picked this movie, it was fun and an adventure I’d recommend for anyone, at any age to watch.

So have you guys seen this movie? If so, what did you think of it?

And here’s the movie trailer if you haven’t! 🙂

giphy

Have a fantastic Sunday, everyone!

21 thoughts on “Big Hero 6

  1. SERIESous Book Reviews says:

    I had to go see this opening weekend and I loved it! I wish it was more action based but I really enjoyed the message of the film and thought it was really, really well done. I was glad it won the Oscar this year though I totally thought How to Train Your Dragon 2 was going to win because that was also a fantastic movie!

    Liked by 1 person

    • sumlynnnguyen says:

      I actually haven’t watched How to Train Your Dragon yet. I’ll add that onto my long list of movies I need to watch then. I’m actually not into watching movies, so I’m trying to catch up with movies I’ve never saw… Like I just saw Bambi and Batman for the first time recently (both were great). Thank you for commenting! 🙂

      Like

  2. Justin says:

    I enjoyed the movie too (oh the Cantonese dubbing was so much fun), but I wasn’t too emotional about it. I wouldn’t say the overarching themes and storyline were clichéd, but they were quite, hm, traditional, if you get what I’m trying to say? Despite that, I still think it’s really well-executed!

    Liked by 1 person

    • sumlynnnguyen says:

      I agree, it was more fun than emotional for me as well. And nice, I’m sure Cantonese dubbing sounds much better than originally Japanese animes getting dubbed into English. Those tend to sound awful, haha.

      Like

  3. thekyleinator says:

    I liked the movie but I g=have one question you may not know the answer to. Do you have any idea why almost every Disney movie has someone dying in it? It seems to happen all the time. Otherwise I really liked the movie and thought it had a great plot. ps. I was able to guess who it was before it was revealed 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Tony Michele says:

    I loved the movie too, first animated film I’ve watched since ‘Monster University’. I do think everyone at least at one point struggles with purpose, finding meaning out of all this. Some more than others.

    Liked by 1 person

    • sumlynnnguyen says:

      I actually haven’t seen Monster University. I’ll add that to my movie-watching quest (I haven’t seen many films, especially ones released in the past 10 years). Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

      Like

  5. dreamingthroughliterature says:

    Ahhhh I still haven’t seen this yet! And I need to so bad! I’m horrible at keeping up to date with movies, but I seriously need to get my hands on this one soon!

    Liked by 1 person

Blogging takes hours, commenting takes minutes. Please don't hesitate to share your thoughts. ^.^

