The Indigo Spell by Richelle Mead

The-Indigo-Spell-coverThe Indigo Spell by Richelle Mead
Series: Bloodlines #3 (3/6)
Published by Razorbill on February 12, 2013
Genres: [Young Adult] Paranormal, Urban Fantasy
Pages: 401
Format: Hardcover
Source: Borrowed

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Books a Million

4.5 Stars, Completed March 26, 2015

– highlight to view SPOILERS –

I was greatly disappointed in Bloodlines and liked The Golden Lily but still thought it could have been better. I am so glad I continued with the Bloodlines series and got to The Indigo Spell. This was the book I was waiting for. I actually felt the same way about Vampire Academy. I loved the VA series, but I thought the first book was underdeveloped. I gradually started to like the series after the first book though, especially Shadow Kiss, which was actually my favorite book of the series. So I guess third time seems to be the charm with Richelle Mead for me.

Anyway, onto the review. The Indigo Spell begins fast-paced with Ms. Terwilliger waking Sydney (Sydney sure gets waken up from sleep quite a lot in this series) and demanding her to cast a spell to locate Ms. Terwilliger’s estranged and evil sister, Veronica. Sydney does so, and Ms. Terwilliger reveals that Veronica has been draining the magic and life out of young girls to gain more power and eternal beauty (which kind of reminds me of Tangled). Ms. Terwilliger also suspects that Sydney is one of Veronica’s next victims, so Ms. Terwilliger needs Sydney’s help in tracking down and stopping Veronica.

By this installment, Sydney already has a long list of problems. She struggles with following the Alchemists rules about vampires and ignoring her intuition that vampires aren’t so bad, Adrian’s advances and his insistence that she loves him (but he’s a vampire, which only makes the idea more difficult for her), finding Angeline a tutor because she’s flunking math (and Angeline’s one of Jill’s guardians, so she needs to remain in school at Palm Springs), and finding Marcus Finch, an ex-Alchemist that may know all the answers to Sydney’s questions and doubts about the Alchemists. So this witch hunt is yet another ordeal to tack on the myriad of complications Sydney faces.

I think what made this a thrilling page-turner was the magic and Marcus/ex-Alchemists plot. One of my problems with the first two books of this series was their similarity and parallelism with VA. I found that the vampire elements in those two served more as a continuation of the VA than an effective spin-off and contribution to this story’s arc. So I welcomed the new, refreshing ideas and appreciated the use of magic and mythology greatly.

Also, with this heavy magic storyline, there’s the start of character development in Sydney. Like I said in my review of The Golden Lily, Sydney already begins to have doubts about the Alchemists, but in this she further explores the rebellious heroine inside her by accepting her innate talent and wielding magic, which goes against all Alchemists laws. I enjoyed this new, badbutt side of her, and thought it made the story more dynamic.

I also really loved the overall plot with Marcus and learning more about breaking the compulsion in the golden lily tattoos. The only downside with these newly introduced plots, particularly the magic half, was that I found it predictable. From the beginning, I suspected the entire Alicia role to be to be fishy. Plus, I knew Alicia’s necklace had to have some significance from the beginning, since it’s unlike Richelle Mead to dwell on apparel and accessories in her books (Aside from VA with Rose’s LBD and Dimitri’s trademark duster).

However there were so many redeeming qualities in The Indigo Spell that lacked in the previous two books of the series, so the somewhat predictable plot was only a 0.5 star deduction. And there was a ton of humor. I found myself laughing out loud during the Marcus moments, he’s just too funny.

Another great thing about this novel was it’s lack of Jill involvement. In my Bloodlines review, I shared my dismay with Jill’s annoying character and her likeness to VA’s Lissa. Instead, other characters like Eddie and Trey had more appearances. And speaking of the guys in the books… Boy, were there so many feels–specifically because of Sydrian moments and pie outings, which is a huge leap for Sydney since she refuses to eat anything loaded with calories. And I found a certain cute baby–a small dragon but adorable nonetheless–endearing. I was smiling at those sweet moments.

Just, ugh, The Indigo Spell was Richelle Mead perfection. That’s the main reason why I added a gif. You guys all know I hardly add gifs on my book reviews, so this shows how high my level of contentment was.

tumblr_inline_nkfzggew2W1rehnjn

And I’ve heard mixed reactions about the books after this one. I definitely plan to continue and finish this series, but for now I think I am going to give them a break and enjoy my satisfaction with this one for a little longer.


Do tell me what you thought of the book if you’ve read it! Despite reading it a while back, my fangirl mode is still on. 😄

5 thoughts on “The Indigo Spell by Richelle Mead

Blogging takes hours, commenting takes minutes. Please don't hesitate to share your thoughts. ^.^

