The Reader Problems Tag

The Reader Problems Tag-2

Hi! I was tagged by Briana and Joey (thank you both for tagging me!) back in April to do The Reader Problems Tag, and I’ve finally decided to post it! Hopefully you all will learn a little more about me through this post. I’ll try my best not to be so roundabout, haha.


1. You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?
Ahh, my TBR is quickly reaching that number… Just kidding, but no joke my TBR is piling up mighty fast! XD I always decide what to read next with intuition and feeling. So I grab whatever book that comes to mind, whether it be one from the TBR, read/reread, or library shelf. I’m actually a huge rereader; and (this is insane) my goal is to read and review every single book I’ve shelved on GR, including the already read ones.

2. You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or are you committed?
I would just continue. Even if I don’t like a book, I often finish it. However, skimming is certainly allowed in these circumstances.

3. The end of the year is coming and you’re so close, but so far away on your Goodreads reading challenge. Do you try to catch up and how?
I guess it kind of depends how “so close but so far away” I am with my goal. I mean if it’s a 50 book difference (not that I would have a goal that huge :o) I would just do my best to squeeze a few more in before the year’s end but I won’t be able to bridge that gap, no way. If it’s a difference by 5, it’s still manageable.

4. The covers of a series you love do. not. match. How do you cope?
I actually contemplated making a Summer Says post about this. Like an unpopular bookish  opinion post or something. Honestly, unmatched covers don’t bother me at all?? The fact that I have gaps in a series because I haven’t purchased them all yet bothers me more.

5. Everyone and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?
I don’t usually bond over books. Like I’ve mentioned before in some other posts, I have very few friends that enjoy reading for fun and the ones that do have outgrown it or don’t read as much-which is totally okay. So I’m used to experiencing and coping with feels or lack of feels, on my own. But I guess, I would talk to you guys via the comments?

6. You’re reading a book and you are about to start crying in public. How do you deal?
I actually think I get emotional easy now that I think about it. But my lacrimation habits are really weird. I honestly don’t cry over things like stubbing my toe or losing a family member. But my favorite fictional gets murder or I see a cute squirrel become roadkill? Tears streaming down my face. It’s hard to explain… I guess I’m more insensitive to things that are happening or directly affecting to me. But anyway, to answer the question: I’d probably let a few tears fall inconspicuously and nonchalantly wipe my eyes.

7. A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a synopsis on Goodreads?
I’m a huge binge/marathon reader. So I usually remember what happens in the beginning installments. However for books that haven’t been released yet, it’s inevitable to just wait. I used to be able to remember all the plots even with a year or two in between each read… But I’m getting older, I’ve read more books, and my memory’s just failing me. So I would reread. Or search the wiki summary option. Maybe even read through some reviews. I wouldn’t skip the sequel though. I mean who does that to a series they loved??

8. You do not want anyone. ANYONE. borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people nope when they ask?
I used to have a huge problem with people that wanted to borrow my books. I still do maybe. I don’t really know anymore since most of my friends don’t read therefore no one really asks to borrow anything. But if they did,  I would just tell them the truth (I actually learned this tactic was the best the hard way when one of my friends back in high school tried to borrow my book. It was fiasco, I rather not retell, lol) that it would bother me. Maybe even apologize for being somewhat selfish? (Yes, I’m a huge apologizer and thank you-er in real life, it’s a reflex from growing up and working in a service type of business.)

9. You’ve picked up and put down 5 books in the last month. How do you get over your reading slump?
A guilty pleasure read is the remedy for me. So vampire books. Or maybe I’d just go with the reading slump and not read. I actually don’t read as often or designate a lot of time to reading as other book bloggers in the blogosphere do. I commend them for reading so much and so fast, but I’m okay with my slow pace.

10. There are so many new books coming out that you’re dying to read! How many do you actually buy?
Everyone that knows me know that I don’t read books immediately after I’ve bought them. So I don’t see the point of buying new releases right away. Unless they’re Cassandra Clare or Richelle Mead books. Those warrant an immediate purchase and reading definitely.

11. After you’ve bought the new books you can’t wait to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf before you get to them?
Forever. Haha. I have plenty of books that I’ve owned as a little girl and haven’t gotten to yet, there’s no telling how long the recent buys will collect dust for. Oh well, they’ll all (hopefully) be read someday!


Thank you both again for the tag! The questions were creative and I had a good time. Now I’ll spread the fun…

I tag – 

34 thoughts on “The Reader Problems Tag

  1. lucia says:

    I don’t like gaps in my series either, although I do like it when people ask to borrow a book. I like to share with them a good book, especially since a lot of people just buy e books, so I like having real books to share with my friends 🙂 .

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Trisha Ann says:

    I can totally relate to your answer on number 8! It’s just so annoying to have people return your books in tattered form. And that’s a funny (but sometimes true on my end too) answer on number 11. The dustiest books grab the best attention to be the next TBR! Thanks for tagging me! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Summer @ Xingsings says:

      And it’s a bit annoying when they don’t ever return it at all. :/ But I don’t lend out my books often so these problems rarely occur now. And you’re welcome, Trisha! 🙂 Looking forward to your post!

      Like

  3. Carolyn says:

    Thanks for tagging me Summer! 🙂 I usually don’t read during a slump either! And my sister had a really bad book borrower that really scared me into letting other people borrow books. Seriously the state of the book (Percy Jackson too! o:) after he borrowed it is a book lover’s nightmare..

    Liked by 1 person

    • Summer @ Xingsings says:

      No problem! And oh no, I’ve had my share of horror stories when it comes to book borrowing. And it’s kind of funny that it was PJ, one of my ugliest books is PJ. I didn’t really take care of my books when I was a kid. The shame.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Thuong Le says:

    Thanks for the tag! 😀 it sounds like fun. I never add too many books into my TBR list because I want it to be manageable to get through. Thats why I only have 13 books on the TBR, instead of 100 XD.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Summer @ Xingsings says:

      That is a very healthy habit to have. I have a friend that loves it when she has a bunch of titles on her TBR. Me (and probably a ton of other readers), on the other hand, feel the anxiety as the pile builds. And no problem, I look forward to reading your other answers! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Kelly @ Dancing Through the Pages says:

    Dude don’t feel bad about not lending books out to your friends. I literally started crying (no clue why I think I was feeling hormonal that day or something lmao) when my brother brought one of my books back from the pool with the spine and cover slightly beaten up. I’m such a hoverer when he reads and I’m always throwing out a “DON’T FOLD THE PAGES” or “DON’T READ AT THE DINNER TABLE BECAUSE YOU’LL GET GREASE ON IT!” Loved the answers and I definitely relate to you on the think about searching up the wiki summaries. I like doing that a lot if it’s a popular book because then I can find it summarized on shmoop or something. Thanks for tagging me!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Bhramori says:

    Oh my god, you basically answered EVERY question in just the way I would! I’m a pretty slow reader compared to some of my friends, and I can’t live without rereading at least one book per month. As for your answers for 2, 5, 7, 8, 9 and 10, I think I’m sure you were talking about me. (You were, weren’t you? 😉 )

    Liked by 1 person

    • Summer @ Xingsings says:

      LOL. Well I’m (weirdly) glad we have so much in common! I’m a pretty slow reader too; I like to soak in all the details. 😉 But yeah, skimming happens when I want to DNF a book. I still want to give it a fair chance, you know? And REREADERS UNITE! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • Bhramori says:

        Exactly, soaking up everything from the book requires time! And yes, I feel very guilty if I discontinue a book like that. So I just keep on reading; who knows, it might get better any moment! And I’m definitely not gonna take a chance and miss that turning point if/when it comes. 😉
        Hell yeah! 😀 Giving you a giant REREADER HUG right now! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  7. bookishandawesome says:

    So, okay. Somehow I missed this? Sorry and thank you Summer! I remember seeing question #7 in Tam-Tam’s, er, Joey’s post and being all like, wth? Who skips a sequel from a series THEY LOVE? I mean, WHO? Also, I get where you’re coming from with item #8. I used to be overprotective of my books. Then I opened the gates to friends and some acquaintances. Now, I’m considering closing the gates again. Some people are just inconsiderate.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Summer @ Xingsings says:

      Haha, it’s okay, Shelumiel. Glad you found out you were tagged this time! 😉 Ahh, closing the gates can be hard but it’s necessary. I started drawing the line when someone dropped my book down a flight of stairs. /cringes/

      Like

Blogging takes hours, commenting takes minutes. Please don't hesitate to share your thoughts. ^.^

