Yallfest 2015

slide-1

I’m scheduling a post today because, my gosh, I haven’t published anything on here in nearly two weeks. There were several reasons behind this unprecedented hiatus.

Some of you may already know this if I commented on your blogs, I’ve been in an awful reading slump (and thus a blogging slump) since mid-October. I’ve started a bunch of fantastic, brilliantly compelling books (A Little Life, A Monster Calls, Wolf By Wolf to name a few)… but I just haven’t been in the mood to… read.  And I think the best way to deal with this is to just not read for a while. However, I want to thank every one of you that gave me great suggestions for remedying the slump-from light contemporaries to short stories.

Another reason why I think I’ll take it easy with the reading is that I won’t be blogging that much in the next few weeks anyway. Fall classes are coming to a close and finals are about to begin the start of December. My focus really needs to be on my studies especially since this is the year I applied to professional school and they’ll be monitoring my every academic move (lol, that was awkwardly worded, sorry heh) until the end of the spring semester, and I have to admit that blogging (and blog hopping) does take a considerable chunk of my time-even though I do enjoy it! However, I do have one exciting news to share with you guys in terms with my status with admissions to pharmacy school-I got an interview! By the time this post has published, I’ve already have had it, but regardless of it going well or not, I’m just so relieved and happy I was competitive enough as an applicant for them to want to meet me in person. Fingers crossed, that everything will go well from here on out.

Yet another great thing that has happened to me recently is… I went to Yallfest! Those of you that follow me on Instagram and Twitter probably knew I went. But yeah. It was such a wonderful experience, being my first book signing event. I ended up meeting authors I never thought I’d ever get to meet, befriending fellow bookworms while waiting in the signing lines, and just having a blast. The only regrets I had were not getting to see panels. I wanted to attend the Keynote collab between Richelle Mead, one of my all-time favorite authors, and R.L. Stine so bad, but I wasn’t able to buy a ticket in time before they sold out. And every free panel conflicted with a signing that I couldn’t give up. However, I’m happy to be able to say “maybe next year.” That’s right! I’m already thinking about going to Yallfest 2016 because it was just that fun this year. 😉

And before I end this post with a few pictures I took at Yallfest 2015 (omg, I was so derp-y in the pictures; don’t mind me, OTL), I just wanted to say thank you to everyone that comments/likes, just silently reads, or does whatever to support Xingsings even when I’m not active in the blogosphere. I know that a lot of my blog traffic comes from my usual blog hopping sprees, but it really does mean a lot when I still see people actively reading this blog even when I’m not present. Like I’ve mentioned before, I really do read every comment and eventually reply to them.

Anyhow, I hope everyone has a lovely and safe week!

IMG_3682

This was a very special year for Yallfest because it was the fifth year since the event began and the 20th anniversary of Blue Bicycle Books, the independent bookstore that sponsors and teams up with Yallfest annually.

IMG_3679

LOL. XD You guys can really tell how short I am in this photo… I’m the one in the middle. On the left (in the pink) is my friend, Amy, who happens to be the very few in real life friends that enjoys to reading as much as I do. On the right is a friend we both made in the Alexandra Bracken line named Sarah.

IMG_3663 copy

So right when we arrived in Charleston, me and Amy literally ran to Renée Ahdieh’s line (we were running a tad late due to finding parking). Though we both haven’t read The Wrath and the Dawn, we were pretty excited to start our day meeting Renée since we’ve only heard good things about her book. She was so, so nice, and had her own copy for her fans to sign. I signed on the eleventh page since 11 is my favorite number, haha.

IMG_3675

Later that day, we went over to the Epic Reads and other bookish/publishing booths to get swag and other free stuff. This photo is kind of random, but it’s of an Epic Reads chalk imprint on a slab of sidewalk. These were all over downtown Charleston that day.

IMG_3702

I think everyone has a focus when they come to these events, for some it’s panels, for other it’s signings, or maybe sometimes just free stuff. Even with a premade schedule I prepared for this day, I had a hard time balancing all three. Like I said, attending panels didn’t happen for me. And since I mostly wanted to meet authors and get my books signed I wasn’t able to grab much free things (people were lined up at 4:30 am at the Epic Reads booth for ARCs apparently-I wasn’t about to wake at 2:00 am (it takes to hours from where I live to get to Charleston) to compete with them).

IMG_3708

However, I did manage to get an ARC of Dreamology by Lucy Keating at the Epic Reads booth when they did this spin-the-wheel type of game thing.

IMG_3689

This was the only author photo I posted on Instagram because, well, meeting Leigh Bardugo was the highlight of my day since she’s one of my new favorite authors. She was so sweet and omg, I couldn’t stop staring at her nails because they were so beautiful and appropriate for Six of Crows recent release. To be honest, I was fangirling too hard to remember much from my 30 seconds of meeting her, LOL.

IMG_3671

Even though it seems like I am, I’m not going to post all the pictures I took with the authors I met (because then this post would be way too long), but here’s me with Ryan Graudin, the author of Wolf by Wolf, which I got an ARC of last month and am currently reading. Her hair was so cool, omg.

IMG_3672

While waiting in the signing lines there were a lot of these banners that asked the readers bookish related questions. A lot of them stretched building-wide and were pretty cool to look at. These waiting-in-line activities the Yallfest committee created this year and meeting/talking to fellow bookworms in the signing lines made them move so much faster.

IMG_3686 (1)

And the last author I met that day was Nicola Yoon! She was so soft-spoken and nice! This photo is me being shy talking about how cute Madeline and Olly’s relationship was, haha. And funny story about meeting her… I was actually the last reader/fan she saw that day too. I literally speed-walked to get to her line after waiting almost two hours in Alexandra Bracken’s.

FullSizeRender 4

Here are the books I got signed personally to me (well except Cinder, which my friend Amy stood in line for for two hours to get for me. By the end when Marissa reached Amy she was only signing and not personalizing or taking pictures, sadly.) | Cinder | Six of Crows | The Wrath and the Dawn | Ruin and Rising | Wolf By Wolf | Everything, Everything | Never Fade | Through the Dark | Red Queen

FullSizeRender 2

As you guys know, I have a huge problem when it comes to book buying. True, I don’t buy used books but in my defense I usually only buy books at bargain prices when they’re cut down to super low deals (that’s right, Bookoutlet will be the reason behind my wallet’s demise). So Yallfest was my day to splurge and buy all of these pretty books-that all happened to be signed! Though these were all sold at full price, it feels great to support an independent book store! | Royal Wedding | Another Day | The Ruby Circle | A Thousand Nights | An Ember in the Ashes | Talon | Rogue

IMG_3680

And I’ll end the pictures here with this very South Carolinian photo (the Chevy truck in the background, haha). I had such a great time, and really encourage you all to attend future Yallfest’s if you can! Maybe we could meet up! 🙂

31 thoughts on “Yallfest 2015

  1. Nerdybirdy @ Daydreaming Books says:

    First of all, congratulations Summer! ❤
    And WOW, love this post. SIGHS You’re so lucky you got to visit this, I plan to visit every bookish event in this world one day, hopefully! 😀 And girl, you are looking utterly cute in all the pictures. And soooo many books, I’m jealous! Remind me why don’t we stay at the same country same place? 😛 Nonetheless I’m glad you had a blast!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. booksandblah says:

    Wow, looks like you had a great time at Yallfest! I really enjoyed looking at your pictures. 🙂 hope I can go someday too haha. Best of luck for your fall semester, hoping for you to get into the school of your dreams 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. cwreads says:

    Wow, that’s sooo cool! Your photos are awesome; it makes me feel even happier for you. 😀 It sounds like you a blast! And your book haul – so much envy. u

    I recently met Sarah J Maas and she was SO nice. She was the first big author I had met, and I was so nervous! What do you say to authors when you meet them? I ended up fumbling over my words and asked her some really lame question about how she was liking New Zealand. Bleh. XD

    Liked by 1 person

    • Summer @ Xingsings says:

      Thanks so much, Chooi! 😀 Yes, I had a wonderful time!

      That’s awesome! I haven’t read any of Sarah J. Maas’s books yet but I know once I do I’ll be extremely jealous you got that opportunity to meet her. I met about eight authors at Yallfest and for the first couple of meetings I was super nervous. Especially since I didn’t really know what to expect since I’ve never really been to signings. Plus, I’m an awkward duck most of the time anyway. But by the end of the day I felt more at ease and was in full fangirl mode (jabbering nonsense probably). XD

      Like

  4. Carolyn says:

    Congratulations Summer! I hope you do well on the interview! And omg, Renee Ahdieh, I’ve wanted to meet her and ask her how she can write such swoonworthy quotes haha. And gimme that ARC of A Study in Charlotte! It’s been on my radar since I first heard about it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Summer @ Xingsings says:

      Thanks so much, Carolyn! 🙂 Gosh, we haven’t chatted in forever. I hope your studies are going well! And hehe, when I was talking to Renee I was telling her about how all my WP bookish friends adore The Wrath and the Dawn. She was so nice, I hope you get to meet her if you decide to go to Yallwest one day!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Carolyn says:

        Honestly probably not as well as your studies 😦 I wanted to apply to PA school after a year but I feel like my GPA is too low..
        Hahah that means you should read it soon :p I also saw that you were reading a little life o: I’m so glad you’re liking it so far 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        • Summer @ Xingsings says:

          Aww, don’t say that, Carolyn! Don’t stress over your studies too much; I know it’s really competitive over there on the west coast. However, you should definitely still apply to PA school even if you don’t think you’re confident with you GPA. You never know, right? Besides they’ll look at other factors like your GRE (or even MCAT) score(s). Not to mention extracurriculars and your interview outcome! You’ll do fine in the end, I’m sure! AND LOL. I have been “reading” A Little life for two months almost. Honestly I read about 100 pages in and had to put it down because of school and life commitments and then I fell into that reading/blogging slump. It was/is so good though. 😀

          Liked by 1 person

  5. Jenna @ Reading with Jenna says:

    Omg Summer, I am still so, so jealous! It sounds like you had lots of fun and even though you didn’t get that much cool swag, I’m so happy that you got to meet so many great authors (The Wrath and the Dawn is really good!) and have your books signed! 😀 Funny story, I recently just got eARCs for Dreamology and A Study in Charlotte! So I’m sure we’ll have heaps to discuss in the future 🙂

    I hope your interview went well!! And good luck with all the upcoming exams ❤ ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Summer @ Xingsings says:

      Aww, thanks so much, Jenna! ❤

      November must be the month of bookish events since you went to HarperCollins BTCYA night! 😉 Yeah, I’m still a little bummed with missing panels and getting free stuff but there’s always next year! Ah gosh, what a coincidence! Dreamology isn’t released until April (I think?) but I’m really looking forward to that one. I actually never heard of it until I saw it at the Epic Reads booth.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Becky (Blogs of a Bookaholic) says:

    First off, I feel ya. I have also been suffering with a reading and blogging slump the past couple of months and to be honest, I’ve never really experienced anything like it before. I’ve never had a reading slump like this or a blogging slump. Fingers crossed for both of us it will resolve itself with time. 🙂

    Second, I am so, SO glad you enjoyed Yallfest! I remember you telling me you were going a while back and that it would be your first bookish event and I’m happy to hear it went well! I went to my first event this year too and also struggled to find the balance between signings and panels. It’s definitely a learning curve but I think it also depends on which are more of a priority for you.

    Looks like you picked up some awesome books!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Summer @ Xingsings says:

      Ah yes, we talked about it around the time you started reading in preparation for the bookish event you went to. I can’t believe you remember that, Becky! I so agree, everything about the event was fun but super hectic in a good way. I did create a schedule to make things more organized but hopefully next year I’ll be able to check out some panels since I got a lot of books signed this year.

      And aww, I know! This reading/blogging slump has been abnormally weird. I’ve finally gotten back into reading but I’m still not really in the mood to review.

      Thanks, Becky! Happy reading and blogging (if you’re out of your slump)!

      Like

  7. Trisha Ann says:

    OMG you got so so many books signed :”> I hope all those awesome authors fly here in my country too! Your photos reflect how a complete fangirl you were as I’m sure I will too if I get to meet them. Oooh so Six of Crows was L Bardugo’s nail art you talked about on instagram? Awesome!

    Though I’m jealous about all these, I’m happy you got in for an interview, Summer! Your dreams are gradually looming into fulfillment. Yey! Are you applying for a Master’s program? I’m crossing my fingers for the next good news you’ll break to the blogosphere 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Summer @ Xingsings says:

      Yes, her nails were so glittery with nice dark hues. Here’s a photo of her nails. I’m pretty sure she had them this way when she was at Yallfest.

      And thank you, Trisha! It’s really hard to describe but in professional school I’ll be earning a Pharmacy doctorate or Pharm D. However, I know some friends that are doing that while doing the Master’s program path with either a MBA like in business as well, so they’d graduate with their undergraduate bachelor’s degree, a Pharm D, and a MBA too. Right now, I don’t foresee myself joining a Master’s program but it’s a possibility. I guess we’ll see. 🙂

      Like

Blogging takes hours, commenting takes minutes. Please don't hesitate to share your thoughts. ^.^

