Be Thankful Challenge

Be Thankful ChallengeHappy Thanksgiving to those that celebrate it today! I participated in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday feature, Ten Books I’m Thankful For, but I thought I’d do another Thanksgiving related post, the Be Thankful Challenge. Thank you Veda at Bookzillan Society for tagging me to do this challenge! I usually tackle tags and awards by chronological order of the date I was first tagged but this was too appropriate for today’s occasion I couldn’t pass it up.

The Rules

  • Write about 5 people in your life you are thankful for
  • Write about 5 things in 2015 that you are thankful for
  • Spread the love and challenge 5 other blogs to take part

People I’m Thankful For

FullSizeRenderWell first and foremost I have to say I’m thankful for my parents. For those that know me in real life, you know that I have a very poor relationship with my mom but I’m still thankful that she gave birth to me. And, of course, I am so thankful for having the best dad a girl could ever wish for. Growing up my dad was very different from a stereotypical Asian father. He allowed me to grow up independently, trusted my decisions, and never pressured me with my studies. He’s my role model and probably my biggest supporter. I feel so blessed to have him as my father and mother figure throughout these many years.

I am equally thankful for the friends that have come and gone in my life. I always share that I’m an introvert on here but in actuality that’s not really an accurate representation of my personality. I’m quiet but I like to think I’m pretty friendly too. I wasn’t really popular or anything but I did have a bunch of friends. Also, I have to thank my close group of best friends who have seen me cry and allowed me to trust and confide in them. How ever much we change, I know we’ll be lifelong friends. And, of course, I’m thankful to all of my internet friends and you guys!

For some of you that have followed this blog for some time, you’d know that I actually work as a part-time nail techician at my father’s salon (I mean all that money that goes to the book buying funds must come from somewhere right?) and I’ve been able to have so many invaluable experiences growing up and working in the salon. So I have to say I am thankful for all the customers and clients I’ve befriended or simply have supported my family’s business in some way throughout the years it’s been in business (19 years; I can’t believe it’s been that long!).

Something that probably doesn’t come as a surprise for a lot of you since you all know school is a very big and important aspect of my life right now, I am thankful for the teachers I have and have had. I can happily say I’ve never had absolutely awful teachers. There were a couple that I disliked at times (ex. she lost my final exam and I had to take a completely different one) but I can say I respected them all and am thankful for what I’ve learned through their mentorship and wisdom.

School and life can be plain stressful, so that’s where blogging and reading comes in. I can easily say I am so very thankful for the creative minds that create stories and the people that blog. I am thankful to the authors that have published books I’ve read and adored. And I am very thankful for all the people I’ve met because of my love for reading, which is all of you (and my real life bookworm friends). I really can’t imagine my life without reading (or even blogging now). It’s all too much fun!

Things in 2015 That I’m Thankful For*

*There’s plenty I’m thankful for this year but I think I’ll just keep it blogging/reading related.

IMG_3777

I actually started my blog on January 2nd of this year and I’m so thankful I did. I didn’t even know such a friendly and supportive internet community existed until I began this hobby. When I first started, I was totally clueless with book tags, memes, and blogging/reading events but everyone helped me ease into all of the jargon and rituals/traditions. Not to mention, creating Xingsings also re-sparked my passion for reading (I had a hiatus with fun reading throughout high school and my first year of college) and I like to think my writing skills have improved greatly (please don’t read my old posts OTL).

And thanks to the blogosphere I was able to attend Yallfest, the second thing I’m thankful for. I live in South Carolina and I had no idea we had an annual young adult festival only two hours away from where I live until bloggers/readers were posting about the event on social media.

The next thing I’m thankful for is the response to the blog posts I make. When I first started this blog I didn’t know what direction I would take hence why I chose a very non-bookish handle. And I never imagined people would like to read what I blogged about. Also, I’m definitely not as active in the book community anymore but I’m thankful for every view, like, and comment.

It may not seem like it since I haven’t done these in a long time, but I’m thankful for every tag and nomination for Xingsings. Sometimes it’s not really about the tagging/nominating but just a shoutout (I guess?). I don’t think a lot of bloggers think about it but when you tag/nominate another blogger it allows for their (the tagger’s) readers to check out another blog that they may really end up enjoying. It’s a great way to build new friendships. And that’s what a community is about right?

Lastly, thanks to all the support for Xingsings, I was able to request for ARCs this year. Before I began blogging I already knew about the concept of ARCs since I was an avid Goodreads user. (That was back in 2009 and I ended up deleting that account because I had a lot of in real life friends and didn’t want to associate that account with my blog). Anyway, I just wanted to say that I’m thankful to all the publishers and authors that have sent me review copies in the past. For me, it’s not really about the book being free but rather that I get to read it early. If you want to know more about how I feel about ARCs and how I go about requesting for them, you can read my post here.

I tag – 

Everyone that’s reading this! I know, I know this is totally cheating and I was just talking about how tags are so great for the book community… but this isn’t really a book tag but a challenge about sharing more personal things so I wasn’t sure who’d like to do this. However, I do encourage those that want to try it to participate because it’s definitely one of those feel-good type of posts after you’ve completed it. Besides it’s good to remind and humble ourselves of what were thankful for.


So that’s it for today. I’m going to try to go ahead and work on an Exploring My Bookshelves post for tomorrow since it’s the last Friday of November. I really dislike that all my posts are all so cluttered together at the end of the month for November, but I’d probably be more upset if I missed my last Friday of the month deadline. And, again, happy Thanksgiving or happy Thursday for those that don’t celebrate the holiday! 🙂

8 thoughts on “Be Thankful Challenge

  1. Nerdybirdy @ Daydreaming Books says:

    Happy Thanksgiving Summer! ❤ It’s such a great occasion, I wish it was celebrated here. No worries! I’ll create my own tradition here, what say? 🙂
    I loved reading this heartwarming post but I didn’t know your top secret behind your book funds and now I know! 😉 And that’s actually pretty great. Have a wonderful day ahead!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Summer @ Xingsings says:

      Thank you! Ahh yes, outside of school I work a lot to earn money for my school textbooks but also for all the books I buy. 🙂 I guess I don’t talk about my job that much on here, haha. I hope you have an awesome day, Poulami! ❤

      Like

  2. cwreads says:

    This post gave me such warm and fuzzies! I really love that you talked a little bit about your life beyond blogging – I think it’s really nice (and sort of meaningful??) when we can blend our life and blogging in a small way. 🙂

    Also, I’d like to take the opportunity to say I’m thankful for you, Summer! You were the first person I spoke to in the blogging community – I didn’t even know it existed before then! But I’m so so glad you reached out to me – through you (in a way!) I’ve made so many new friends and my blogging experience has brought me a lot of joy. So from the bottom of my heart: thank you. :’)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Summer @ Xingsings says:

      Aww, reading this comment really made my day, Chooi! ❤ I’ll always be thankful for our friendship, too.

      And I so agree about the more personal posts to be nice and fun to read. It’s nice to be able to put a face and personality to a blog. Books and reviews are cool but to get to know a blogger really is the best! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Trisha Ann says:

    So much positivity on this post! Summer, your message here just is just so truthful and heartfelt. I already knew some of these personal stories you shared through a series of our comment exchanges but still, they leave me inspired. Happy Thanksgiving! (though we don’t have that here)

    Now you got me wondering what the stereotypical Asian dad is like in the States LOL. And that’s a lovely collage of picture on your wall (Is that Summer on her prom dress?! Haha! Don’t worry! It’s lovely).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Summer @ Xingsings says:

      Oh my gosh, haha! Yes, that’s me in my white prom dress. I don’t know what I was thinking when I thought white was a good idea (it’s so much like a wedding dress, LOL); my date was cool with it thankfully. 😅And aww, thanks so much, Trisha! Your posts about your personal life and work always leaves me inspired as well (I really mean it). 🙂 Have a lovely day!

      Like

Blogging takes hours, commenting takes minutes. Please don't hesitate to share your thoughts. ^.^

