The Blog Most Likely To… Tag

The Blog Most Likely To... Tag

Hello, friends! Today I wanted to share a super cool tag that I think all bloggers should participate in, The Blog Most Likely To… Tag! I was tagged by Joey at Thoughts and Afterthoughts. Thanks, Joey! (By the way… you never suggested a blogger superlative to me… but that’s okay!)

Like Joey explained in his post, this challenge was actually inspired by Huntley Fitzpatrick’s release of The Boy Most Likely To back during the summer of 2015. Like Joey, I haven’t read any of Huntley Fitzpatrick’s work despite having heard so many wonderful things. But I do plan to eventually. My Life Next Door being the one that holds the most anticipation; that premise just appeals to me the most out of the rest of Fitzpatrick’s work.

But anyway, before I reveal what my blog superlative is… I just wanted to let you guys know that early 2015 I also completed the More Happy and Not Tag, which was created by Shelumiel at Bookish and Awesome. That tag was also inspired by a book release, More Happy Than Not. It’s such a feel good post that I also encourage you guys to do if you haven’t already. (By the way, despite all the promises and “I’ll read it soon”s, I never managed to pick that book up in 2015. Sigh. Will 2016 be the year?)

Note: This is a 2015 tag, meaning I was first tagged in 2015. I’m just trying to go through all the awards and tags from my 2015 queue. But I am an tag/award free blog in that I won’t be doing any more tags/awards after I go through the 2015 drafts. Sorry for the confusion!


And time for the big reveal (or maybe not so big if you’ve already sneaked a peek due to the bold, “in your face” text):

Xingsings would be:

“The Blog Most Likely to… Be EXCESSIVELY Wordy”


To clarify what that means (to me):

I often times make my reviews, posts, comments, replies 10x longer than they should be. Like all I’m trying to say sometimes is “nice post,” but I end up going on several tangents and then it becomes what I term as the “Summer bomb.” I’m sort of pleased by how a lot of you guys have recycled that before. 😄 And more often than not my book reviews are 1000+ words long, which I guess is sort of the norm for people that like to write long reviews but I tend to use a lot of extra words like “sort/kind of,” filler conjunctions, double adjectives (like my earlier “super cool”), parentheses (like just how I used one, and one again), and adverbs. This is precisely why I bold the main points to my arguments in most of my posts…


Gosh, why am I so wordy?

My theories:

A) Taking a total of six courses in Latin throughout high school and college contributed to this. English was always my weakest subject in school, and I honestly think I learned how to use proper English grammar though my Latin courses more than my English ones (but this is a common sentiment among most Latin students, I think). And, as you know, Latin’s an archaic language and rarely spoken (except for those extreme Latinist or linguists). Instead emphasis on the accuracy of translation and expression is often the focus. Latin students usually pick up textbooks that will have wordy sentences that fit with “the curriculum.” Latin is very specific with certain use of adjectives, adverbs, and constructions (ablative absolutes, indirect questions, etc); the overall language is systematic, but also very convoluted. I mean have any of you read and translated any classical Latin writings?

“post haec caelatus eodem sistitur argento crater fabricataque fago pocula, qua cava sunt, flaventibus inlita ceris; parva mora est, epulasque foci misere calentes, nec longae rursus referuntur vina senectae dantque locum mensis paulum seducta secundis: hic nux, hic mixta est rugosis carica palmis prunaque et patulis redolentia mala canistris et de purpereis conlectae visitbus uvae, candidus in medio favus est; super omnia vultus accessere boni nec iners pauperque voluntas.”

Lines 668-673 from Ovid’s Metamorphoses (Book VIII, “Philemon and Baucis”)

Yes, that was just one sentence. Look at the the number of semicolons and colons… >.<

B) In addition, Vietnamese uses some superfluous verbiage sometimes. I can’t exactly explain this in English in a proper and effective manner. But we use a lot of “adverbs of intensity.” Instead of saying something more straightforward and short, we’ll add adverbs like “very” even when it doesn’t matter if we use the relative (example: good), comparative (better), or superlative (best) form. Another example, we often use terms of endearment such as “ơi” at the end of people’s names. And we have many multi-word adjectives. But yeah. I guess I put a lot of thought into this. 😄

C) My thoughts are plain mush sometimes, haha. Or maybe that’s just my internet persona.

But whatever the reason, I don’t think being “wordy” is necessarily a good thing or a bad thing.


Examples:

It’s very likely you’ve gotten a “summer bomb” or paragraph comment from me some point or another. But for some odd reason if you did not, here are some ridiculously long posts I’ve published in the past:

5 Longest Miscellaneous Posts:
4,616 words: Liebster Award (2nd and Last One) post
4,368 words: All Things About ARCs post
3,806 words: Real Neat Blogger Award post
3,308 words: Siblinghood (Sisterhood) of the World Bloggers Award post
2,601 words: Attack on Titan post

5 Longest Review Posts:
2,138 words: My True Love Gave to Me revew
1,600 words: Everything, Everything review
1,401 words: Maximum Ride Forever review
1,308 words: The Summer of Chasing Mermaids review
1,261 words: A Darker Shade of Magic review

And for fun this is my shortest post… because I handwrote most of it! 😄


What is your “Blog Most Likely to…” superlative?

I Tag –

Also, I really want everyone to do this. So if you’d like to, I tag you! 😀


Haha, I hope that was kind of interesting. Thanks for reading! Did you guys find it an accurate description or not really? Let me know what you think my superlative should have been if not this one. 🙂

Oh and this will be my last award/tag post for a long while. I’ll eventually get through all the other 2015 drafts by the year’s end but this is one of the last of the scheduled posts I created in early January (the others are scheduled later in 2016). I’m going to try to focus on mainly book reviews, Summer Says, Summing it Up, and haul posts from here on out. :3

40 thoughts on “The Blog Most Likely To… Tag

  1. The Sapphire says:

    I just started blogging not long ago, and being excessively and unnecessarily wordy was a huuge urge I had to fight against too xD I haven’t taken Latin (or any other language of such) at my school, and even though English is my 3rd language, it’s the language I love the most. It’s also kind of my Internet-persona too hehe. I loved this tag and I love the idea of this post!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Eve Messenger says:

    “Wordy” posts are fun! There’s so much personality in them, and they explore things fully–I like that. My blog posts tend to be too short, I think. I wish I could make them longer in a way that makes sense like you do.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Summer @ Xingsings says:

      Thank you so much! You’re too kind! I really do believe there’s a beauty in being both pithy or wordy. Whatever comes naturally is best, I think! It’s actually interesting that I’m this was online though since I’m a totally quiet recluse in real life.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Cherry says:

    Seeing as I just got a Summer Bomb from you yesterday, I’d say it’s pretty accurate xD But I loveee your long comments and long blog posts because I also have a tendency to write a lot haha. I think our reasons are a bit different though, I think I just don’t know how to summarize how I feel in a few words. And though I’m pretty quiet in person, I can be really talkative haha…anyway, I really love this post! And this is such a cool tag ^-^

    Liked by 1 person

    • Summer @ Xingsings says:

      Hehe, I’m so glad that you don’t mind! Ironically though I am not like this in real life. I have about three friends that follow my blog and they’ve told me time and time again that I sound like a completely different person on my blog than through texting or in real life. I guess I’m much more quiet and private in real life. And haha, actually I’m an awful summarizer. I just totally forgot to add that point! Thanks so much, Cherry! ^.^

      Liked by 1 person

      • Cherry says:

        I’m pretty pretty quiet in real life too xD We have so much in common! Lol, I think we just let our inner fangirls have free reign over our blogs 😛 which I’m totally okay with haha

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Shealea Iral says:

    I think I’m also at fault to being excessively wordy. I loved this post because I could somewhat relate! I tend to go off tangent pretty frequently which is probably why I use the phrase “But I digress.” a lot and why I tend to strikethrough bits and pieces of what I write/type. Don’t worry about it though. I enjoy reading every word of your posts! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Summer @ Xingsings says:

      Instead of strikethrough I use way too many parentheses to express my thoughts. But I’m glad to hear you don’t mind, Shealea! Thank you! And I don’t think going off tangents is a bad thing at all. The best conversation starters come from them. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Kelly @ Dancing Through the Pages says:

    Definitely, definitely accurate. You’re so wordy, but I don’t think it’s a bad thing! The good thing is that your wordiness has this… flow… to it so it’s not like it’s incoherent. Plus you always really flesh out what you mean in a post and it’s super easy to understand what you want to convey! Besides, it’s a blog and you’re meant to be yourself so if wordiness is you, I don’t think there is an issue with it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Summer @ Xingsings says:

      Aww, reading this entire comment made me smile so big. Thanks for accepting me for who I am, Kelly! (Why did that come out so cheesy? Omg.) And I hope you had a smooth school year and that you did well on your APs (I remember how miserable the beginning of my Mays were, haha). 🙂

      Like

  6. Analee @ Book Snacks says:

    Haha, there’s nothing wrong with being wordy! Your posts are always so much fun to read, and are always so insightful–especially your reviews! Don’t worry, it happens to me too. I think my posts tend to fall into both sides, depending. Sometimes they’re long, sometimes short. 🙂 You did a great job on picking your superlative; I’d say it’s quite accurate! And you know we all love you for it. 😀 Thanks so much for the tag!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Summer @ Xingsings says:

      Why are so lovely, Analee? Thank you so much for everything you said in this comment (especially the book review part-I’m so touched, really)! I really appreciate your kindness, as always. I hope school and everything has been going okay. Miss seeing you around! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Analee @ Book Snacks says:

        It has been okay, thanks for asking! Really swamped with exams and studies though for the past month, though only a little bit left to go! Been driving me nuts but nothing to do about it.. LOL. I’ve been missing being around the blogosphere! Really hope once it’s all over I can spend some more time on the blog. 😊

        Like

Blogging takes hours, commenting takes minutes. Please don't hesitate to share your thoughts. ^.^

