Summing It Up: February 2016

february summing it up

Even with it being a leap year and having that extra day, February still flew by super quick for me. I, honestly, didn’t really do much since the majority of my month comprised of studying for exams, taking them, and doing other academic related stuff. So this month’s Summing It Up will be pretty boring, just a simple recap on the blog posts I posted on Xingsings and my monthly favorites! 🙂

February Blog Posts*

*in publication order, not by favoritism

*I’ve decided to not cross post all of my reviews from my Goodreads anymore. Just because some of them are more school related and probably not as relevant to share on here.

Favorites

IMG_4558

I started using Audible beginning of February. So far I really love it! However, I don’t think I’ll be continuing my subscription. I get more “reading” done and I can listen to it on my way to school (because I spend at least two hours driving daily), but of the two books I’ve tried listening to… I ended up picking the physical books up and reading them myself anyway, which sort of defeats the purpose of me paying monthly for this service. So yeah, I’m on the fence with continuing… But I do recommend it if you like audio books! It’s really easy to use and I love how they sync across devices.

Like every Asian '90s kid i was a huge fan of Sailor Moon. When I discovered the Secret Tokyo adult coloring book... I had to have it.

Like every Asian ’90s kid I was a huge fan of Sailor Moon. When I discovered the Secret Tokyo adult coloring book had a lot of Japanese inspired entertainment color-ins… I had to have it. Before, I used to buy these for my friends as gifts but I didn’t really believe in having any of my own. But adult coloring books are so relaxing to color in.

So if you guys have followed Xingsings for some time, you guys know my least favorite animal are sharks and my most favorite are dolphins (if you don't count unicorns that is). I recently started buying Pura Vida bracelets-only the ones where a percentage goes to charity organizations. In the photo, I'm wearing the "Save the Orcas" series, the blues ones not my Lokai bracelet (the white one with the black bead). They are pretty pricey but I love that they're waterproof and, if you buy the charity ones, it goes to a good cause.

So if you guys have followed Xingsings for some time, you guys know my least favorite animal are sharks and my most favorite are dolphins (if you don’t count unicorns that is). I recently started buying Pura Vida bracelets-only the ones where a percentage goes to charity organizations. In the photo, I’m wearing the “Save the Orcas” and “Save the Dolphins” series, the blue ones not my Lokai bracelet (the white one with the black bead). They are pretty pricey but I love that they’re waterproof and, if you buy the charity ones, it goes to a good cause.

Hands down, A Little Life was my favorite read of the month. I swear, this is probably one of the BEST book I've ever read. And it'll be a story with characters that will stick with me for a very long time.

Hands down, A Little Life was my favorite read of the month. I swear, this is probably one of the BEST books I’ve ever read. And it’ll be a story with characters that will stick with me for a very long time.

I’m not sure if any you have noticed but for books that really have touched me on an emotional level I usually include a “Summer’s Playlist” in those reviews. For A Little Life, I included this track. I’ve been listening to it quite a lot since I love Florence + The Machine anyway. The lyrics are perfect for the book and I love the backing vocals echoing “St. Jude.” Hauntingly beautiful, I think.

It was really tough trying to find my favorite choreography this month… But I ended up choosing Ami and Akanen’s choreo to Deep Water to spotlight. They’re both Japanese guest choreographers for 1 Million Dance Studio and I loved all the choreo they created during their stay in Korea. Other strong contenders were Bongyoung Park’s Where Are Ü Now, Akanen’s Swallow Me Down, and Lia Kim’s Gold. I loved all the choreos with Akanen but I felt like the lyrics were to explicit to share on Xingsings, lol.

I’ve been loving this song so, so much. SHINee (and Beast) got me into K-pop in 2011 so even though I only really listen to Exo now I still love the former group a lot. My friend brought my attention to Taemin’s, one the the SHINee members, comeback and this is my favorite song on his album. I was going to add the music video but I decided to link the live performance instead. The fan chants are insane! I’m so glad he’s getting the support he deserves! He was one of the youngest K-pop idols to debut (years ago) and it’s amazing to see his transformation over the years. Also, Bruno Mars co-wrote this song!

I learned of this song from Kat at Life and Other Disasters’s Top Ten Tuesday post. And I’ve been listening to it nonstop since!

Reynah is one of my favorite Youtube pianists of all time. I absolutely love all her Exo covers and her SHINee cover montages are pretty epic as well. I don’t know how she does it but she always transcribes so quickly and very accurately! Exo’s Beautiful is one of my favorite songs and I’ve been revisiting this cover for some time now. Reynah released some sheet music for this piece so I just started to learn it yesterday since it’s relatively easy and I’ve been on my spring break!


That’s all! Hope you guys had a nice February! Like I said, my month was uneventful overall but I did find some incredible discoveries.  😀

29 thoughts on “Summing It Up: February 2016

    • Summer @ Xingsings says:

      Hope you enjoyed the piano track, Alicia. And, oh my gosh, thank you!! It really made my day knowing that you checked out the link. I think Pura Vida bracelets are already popular but people should support their charity bracelets more!

      Like

  1. Lois says:

    I’ve never tried audiobooks mainly because I find that I am too easily distracted and for the fear that some of the voices don’t match the one I envisioned in my head haha. I think I might try it one day but we’ll see.
    I absolutely love the bracelet and it’s an organisation I’d be quite happy to support. Sharks are not my favourite but I can admire them from a distance aka safe on land/on TV. I must say turtles are a favourite of mine as well as the dolphin haha. 🙂
    By the looks of it you’ve had a wonderfully productive February and I hope you have an equally wonderful March. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Summer @ Xingsings says:

      The narrators are really important to me. I always listen to the full sample to see if I like them. I also usually look at the reviews to see how reliable he/she is because apparently some will mispronounce certain names or fantasy jargon the author created, and that can be annoying if you actually do know how to say it. Plus, I usually don’t listen to young adult books on Audible; the narrators’ voices are normally annoyingly “young” on there. And haha, I envy your limited comfortability with sharks. I’m terrified of them. Like those shark tunnels aquariums have? I literally can’t walk across them because I’m that scared. Just thinking about them makes me shudder. Anyways, I am pretty certain Pura Vida has a “Save the Sea Turtles” line so definitely check those out. ^.^ And thanks, Lois! Happy March to you as well!

      Liked by 1 person

Blogging takes hours, commenting takes minutes. Please don't hesitate to share your thoughts. ^.^

