Summing It Up: March 2016

Summing It Up_ March 2016

Hello, friends! Back so soon, Summer? Well, I wanted to make sure I published this monthly wrap up and favorites before we got any further into April. (After this, they’ll be just scheduled book reviews sprinkled here and there.) The end of February was sort of meh for me (you will know why if you read my most recent post) but I had a really awesome March. My spring break was the beginning of the month so I ended up reading a lot (7 books; that’s a lot for me)-actually so much that I’m behind on reviews, which is unbelievable because this rarely happens. 😀 And despite still having a lot of hectic things happening with school, work, and extracurriculars when I returned from spring break, I managed to do pretty okay will releasing content on Xingsings last month. So anyway, let’s get into the “summing it up” part, shall we?

March BLOG POSTS*

*in publication order, not by favoritism

*I’ve decided to not cross post all of my reviews from my Goodreads anymore. Just because some of them are more school related and probably not as relevant to share on here.

FAVORITES

This is sort of mundane to share but I finally got new sheets. I've literally only had two sets of sheets in my life and it was such a pain every time I washed them. I literally would have a naked bed for 5 hours until they were done drying. >.< I love the minimalistic color of these. I got them, including the decorative pillows all for $79 at Bed, Bath and Beyond. My local store is have clearance sale. :D

This is sort of mundane to share but I finally got new sheets and a comforter. Prior to getting this one, I was only using one set of sheets. So every time I washed them I literally would have a naked bed for 5 hours until they were done washing and drying. And I love reading while lying in bed  (it’s just so comfy!) so this was proving to be too inconvenient. >.< Therefore I’m super happy with getting this set; now I can finally alternate while washing my bedsheets (which may sound kind of silly to some of you all, hehe)! And I got them, including the decorative pillows, all for $79 at Bed Bath & Beyond which is major steal if you ask me. My local store was having a random clearance sale for some reason. (Hehe, our pal, the dolphin, is peeping from behind.)

On the 6th I went to see Zootopia with one of my friends. The storyline was so cute and the characters were so lovable. I highly recommend it to all of you! My favorite scene was at the DMV. Lol! (This photo is in b&w because I ended outpacing the picture really late so the lighting made the non-filtered photo so pathetic... So yeah. XD )

On the 6th I went to see Zootopia with one of my friends. (As you guys can probably see the ticket was incredibly expensive because they only had 3D available. Sigh. Just wondering but is it expensive for you guys, too, to go the movies?) The storyline was so cute and the characters were so lovable. I highly recommend it to all of you! My favorite scene was at the DMV. Oh, Flash. Those of you guys that have seen it probably know what I’m talking about. Lol! (This photo is in b&w because I ended up taking the picture really late at night so the lighting made the non-filtered photo so pathetic… So yeah, had to fix that. XD )

It's been a few months now but I've started to use my Instagram more and post daily bookstagram photos. With the new sheets, I decided to make slight changes to my Bookstagram theme and I'm really liking how it looks so far. Also, I'm able to add more color now that I'm using my bookshelves as the background again. :D To be honest, I don't think my shelves will go back to "by series" order ever again. Too much work to reorganize from color. >.<

It’s been a few months now but I’ve started to use my Instagram more and post photos on it daily. With the new sheets, I decided to make slight changes to my Bookstagram theme and I’m really liking how it looks so far. Also, I’m able to add more color now that I’m using my bookshelves as a background again. 😀 To be honest, I don’t think my shelves will go back to “by series” order ever again. Too much work to reorganize from color. >.<

IMG_4582

I don’t get it. So why did I wait this long to read The Winner’s trilogy?? The Winner’s Curse was a magnificent first installment; I loved it as much as everyone promised I would! It certainly takes the spotlight as my favorite book of the month. And I just finished The Winner’s Kiss and, oh my gosh, the feels. THE FEELS. It may be too early to decide this but that one is going on my April favorites! 

So last year when I reviewed Hello, I Love You I also added some of my favorite K-pop songs at the time. One of the songs included was by Boa. I can see why Boa is so popular and looked up to by many K-pop artists but it wasn’t until her release of Kiss My Lips did I really love her music. One of the songs I really enjoyed listening from that album was Fox. And when 1 Million Dance Studio uploaded the original choreo by Lia Kim to that song I fangirled for a few minutes. XD And I’m not sure if other 1 Million Dance studio fans noticed but in the live performance where Boa performs the song Bong Young Park, another 1 Million choreographer, is actually the male dancer. This month I also really loved Mina Young’s Twerk It Like Miley choreo and Eunho Kim’s Smooth Operator choreo as well.

Favorite album of the month was this one! I don’t really know what to say other than that I really love every song. There’s a very nice mellow vibe to them; a great mix of electronic and R&B, I think. My favorite one is probably Unfold at 26:14 though.

I read a lot (for me) this month but somehow I managed to watch some anime during my spring break. I saw Ao Haru Ride, Akagami no Shirayukihima (Seasons 1 and 2), Nijiiro Days, and Norn9: Norn+Nonet. If you guys do watch anime I highly recommend the first two. Ao Haru Ride was so cute. It’s about a boy and girl that liked each other in middle school but after a few misunderstandings and unexpected events they’re separated until they meet again in high school. As for Akagami no Shirayukihima, that one was a loosely inspired tale of Snow White. I love that our main protagonist was a pharmacist. 😉 And I decided to feature this song from the Ao Haru Ride OST.

Update: Well it’s a good thing that I sometimes look at my older blog posts, because it looks like the video I linked previously got taken down (probably for copyrights). Here’s a replacement. (Though it’s extended and much longer than the official audio. Regardless, I hope you enjoy!)

So I only really love the first song of this OST (called Fond Memories) but it’s from an anime called Best of My Love Story. If you guys couldn’t tell I mainly only watch shoujo anime (and occasional shounen like Claymore and Attack on Titan but this romance wasn’t really for me. Although, I did appreciate that the male lead wasn’t the conventional “pretty boy”/”good looking” type of love interest.


I know I’m supposed to be taking a break from blogging so I won’t be replying to comments on my blog anytime soon… However let me know how your March went by! Or if we have any common interests like the music or anime I mentioned. I’d love to know when I make my real return to the blogosphere! 😀

17 thoughts on “Summing It Up: March 2016

  1. Marie @ drizzleandhurricanebooks says:

    I’m so glad you liked Zootopia, that movie was the highlight of my month, really. Or did I see it back in February? I can’t remember, but I LOVED it so, so much. My favorite scene was with Flash, too, and I’m intensively looking to have a Flash Funko Pop!, now. I am obsessed, haha. I loved the ending of the movie, too! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Summer @ Xingsings says:

      I could be wrong about this but I think the same team created Frozen? I didn’t even realize there was so much anticipation and hype surrounding Zootopia until I was sitting elbow to elbow at the theaters. But personally I like the latter way more than Frozen. The storyline is so creatively cute. Right! That scene was fabulously hilarious! I loved it so much. 😀 (And lol, I wasn’t supposed to reply so quickly. Forget my hiatus. I’m already missing blogging and interacting with everyone! 😅 😀 )

      Liked by 1 person

  2. ravenblake99 says:

    It seems you had great month! I enjoyed reading your post and I’m glad you loved The winner’s trilogy. I haven’t gotten to it yet but i’m pretty much excited. I love BOA and LIA KIM is my favorite choreographer so It’s really great to see her performing one of her songs. Great Wrap up! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Summer @ Xingsings says:

      To be honest, I rarely watch things in 3D because it’s too expensive, but that was the only time available that me and my friend could watch it. I certainly agree that it probably would have been just as good without it being 3D. 🙂 And ahaha, Flash is the best! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Jeann @ Happy Indulgence says:

    I’m so glad to hear that you are back from blogging just for a bit Summer! I love your new instagram theme, colour is my favourite and your photos are so beautiful! New sheets feel the best when you get into bed, it’s so comfortable and satisfying. It is pretty expensive to go to the movies here as well, particularly 3D ones!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Summer @ Xingsings says:

      I wasn’t sure what going to the theater was like in other countries, thanks for sharing that, Jeann! And aww, thank you so much! That really means a lot since I love your bookish photos as well. Ah yes, new sheets are the best. ^.^

      Like

Blogging takes hours, commenting takes minutes. Please don't hesitate to share your thoughts. ^.^

