Summing It Up: June 2016

Summing It Up_ June 2016

Hello, everyone! It’s really been a while. I hope you all are doing well!

A few weeks ago I added an “Update” widget on my blog’s sidebar that shared I was taking an unplanned hiatus due to my heavy work schedule. (A lot of the nail technicians were on vacation and some of them quit their jobs unexpectedly so I had to fill in, which meant I was essentially working full time for seven days a week.) So with everything happening so sudden, I didn’t do much blogging or get a chance to release a official hiatus, so I’m going to do that now.

I’ll be working a lot more than I planned this summer not only to help the family business because it’s currently understaffed but to save money for school since my leftover undergraduate scholarships only covers a part of my pharmacy school tuition. So I still won’t be around too much as I used to be. And while I was away (for 10-ish days, which may not seem like much) I liked the space between my posts. And I hope to continue posting less. I think it’ll be better this way especially since I know this fall semester is going to be tough. I think getting used to this new schedule with my blog will be beneficial and healthy for me anyway.

So I guess what I’m trying to say with this introduction is: I’m not really on a break from blogging. I’ll still be around, but count on a more unstable posting schedule from Xingsings here on out! I used to post about 2-3 posts a week. Now that may not be the case anymore. Sometimes it may be still twice a week or even once a week, whatever my work (and future school) schedule will allow! I will try to continue to visit everyone’s blogs but definitely not the frequency as I used to before. Hope that you all can understand and support me with this decision. ^.^

But anyway, onwards with the monthly recap and favorites post, huh? 🙂

June Blog Posts*

*in publication order, not by favoritism

Events

There has been such sad news across the US this past month (the Stanford rape case, the murder-suicide shooting at UCLA, Christina Grimmie’s death, and the mass shooting at Pulse nightclub). I have a lot of friends that go to school in California (a few at Stanford and UCLA) and it was really sad hearing about what was going on over there. And I wasn’t a massive fan of Grimmie’s music but I did enjoy some of her older cover collaborations on her Youtube when I was a teenager. I feel so sorry for the people that knew and loved her personally or as a singer on stage. And I’m not going to even go into about what happened with the nightclub in Orlando. Anyway, I hope that you all wherever you live stay safe!

June is a pretty important month for me because of Father’s Day since I’m so close with my dad. This year’s holiday was especially eventful (and weird) because my mother unexpectedly visited me and my dad. My parents separated amiably and permanently when I was eight years old, but I still have a pretty awful relationship with my mother. The last time I saw her was actually three years ago. Anyway, the visit wasn’t as bad as I was expecting and it was definitely more calm than the previous times she visited me, which is something to be thankful for.

Little Summer back in 2002.

Ba and little Summer back in 2002.

I also hit 1K followers on Instagram, which was exciting! I’ve been thinking about a hosting a giveaway as celebration for hitting the milestone, but to be honest I probably won’t because I’ve spent too much money in June and I sort of really hate the idea of giveaway accounts on Instagram being a part of this process. But, who knows, I may do one if I reach another milestone in the future. And if you haven’t already noticed, I’ve started watermarking my photos when I can now. (Because in June someone actually used one of my photos without properly crediting. Sigh, I’m flattered but also unsettled that people actually do that…)


Favorites*

*You all may notice that I started to use my Instagram posts. This is because I’m actually running out of space in Xingsings’s media. I’m already at 40% and I’ve only been blogging for 1.5 years… It’s probably due to all the graphics and photos I upload to use in my posts. Anyway, I do plan to continue to blog for a while more so I’m going to try to conserve my space. So from now on, when I can, I’m going to try to use my Instagram photos. :3

Design + Happiness and Ban.dō Pins
When I competed for HOSA in high school at the national convention all the students would trade pins all the time. But other than those occasions I wasn't into them much. However, I recently discovered these and thought they were so adorable! >.<

When I competed for HOSA in high school at the national convention all the students would trade pins all the time. But other than those occasions I wasn’t ever really into them much. However, I recently discovered these and thought they were so adorable! >.< I plan to pin the “chill pill” one on my lab coat when I start school. It’s so ironic, haha.

Shop Ban.dō 2016 Agenda
Kawaii Stickers (CuteThingsFromJapan)
I stocked up on some cute, cheap stickers from a really awesome Etsy shop called CuteThingsFromJapan. There was something wrong with my order and Ayako, the shop owner, was so accommodating and refunded part of my money and gave me some free stuff (the red My Melody stickers and page flags on the right). Anyway, if you are interested in cute stickers... I highly recommend this shop! Also, the shipping has a standard rate and isn't too bad.

I stocked up on some cute, cheap stickers from a really awesome Etsy shop called CuteThingsFromJapan. There was something wrong with my order and Ayako, the shop owner, was so accommodating and refunded part of my money and gave me some free stuff (the red My Melody stickers and page flags on the right). Anyway, if you are interested in cute stickers… I highly recommend this shop! Also, the shipping has a standard rate and isn’t too bad.

Shark Lokai
Triangular Nails (?)
Because I've been in the salon working a lot, I decided to do my nails this month. I went with the triangular look inspired by the new Korean trend a lot of actresses and artists are sporting these days. XD

Because I’ve been in the salon working a lot, I decided to do my nails this month. I went with the triangular look inspired by the new Korean trend a lot of actresses and artists are sporting these days. 😄 To be honest, I am normally not fond of blue on nails, but I like how this turned out. 🙂

BTS’s Young Forever Album

Exo’s EX’ACT Albums [Monster (Korean), Monster (Mandarin), Lucky One (Korean), and Lucky One (Mandarin)] 
IMG_5553

Exo finally came back with a new album! I had to get all versions (which there were four) so that I could have all the photobooks (each has a different photobook). But, sadly, for both the Mandarin albums I got D.O.’s photocard, and for both the Korean albums I got Suho’s. Since Lay (or aka Yixing) is my favorite member I was hoping to get his. ): Oh well. At least the seller did give me some extra photocards and the 8 posters that came with the album (which aren’t pictured) for free.

(WARNING! LOTS OF VIDEOS THIS MONTH!)

Honestly, I haven’t listened to as much Korean music since 2016 began, but because of Exo’s recent comeback the Kpopper fire has resparked in me. 😄 (You’ll soon see how many K-pop favorites I have this month!)

Like I said, Exo recently came back with two songs, Monster (the MV above) and Lucky One (which I’ll link somewhere below). I like both songs quite equally. However, with the first listen I did find Monster catchier and the one that will probably appeal to fans more because of the choreo, concept, and song itself. The music video is confusing as ever, which isn’t a big surprise since SM Entertainment is known for have such obscure MV storylines. And I, personally, don’t like the dark concept (like heck no to that piercing that Baekhyun wears the majority of the time in the MV), but the choreography looks tough and is pretty satisfying to watch!

Update 7/30/16: I’m not sure why Mnet decided to make the original video private but here’s another upload of the same video.

As for Lucky One… I can’t even express how much I LOVE this comeback because of this song. Lucky One is very much 90s pop with some modern funk and disco twists. And honestly, between Monster and Lucky One, I certainly think this one suits the Exo members’ voices more. And it may be my favorite track of their promoting songs they’ve released thus far. It’s totally going to be my summer jam. ☀️ 😀

Gif credits: getlayd

Gif credits: getlayd

Oh and a part of me also feels partial to this song because Yixing has so many parts. I’m so happy. 😭

A lot of BTS’s music is very similar so I sort of gave up on them after a while, but after my friend let me borrow her CD I became a fan of this song.

And because of that BTS CD I started to listen to a track I was already in love with before: Butterfly. This may just be my all time favorite song by BTS (along with I Like It).

Taeyeon’s solo debut, I, was on repeat for so many months last summer. She’s definitely my favorite Korean girl group idol turned into solo artist. Her voice is just omg. And DEAN has such great vocal control. This collaboration was everything I could have asked for, and I adore the summer-y LA vibes from the MV as well.

I wasn’t much of a fan of Hyomin because her title songs never seem to be the type of music I was into, but, in June, I really loved this track from one of her older albums.

Hyomin is actually part of a girl group band named T-Ara. And through listening to Gold, I was able to discover this track by one of Hyomin’s fellow girl group members, Jiyeon. The song is kind of dramatic, but I really like it with the choreography! (I’m a sucker for good dancing, obviously…)

This song reminds me of a mix between old school R&B and traditional ballads. It’s normally not the type of music I like to listen to, but I really loved it in the month of June.

1 Million Dance Studio has returned (thank goodness!), and this one was my favorite choreo from them last month. Eunho Kim really seemed to capture the message of the song!


And yes! We’ve finally reached the end! It literally took me so long to create this post because I kept stopping to rewatch the videos I’d link, haha. >.< Anyway, thanks so much for tuning in, as always. Let me know what you did in June or if you’re a fan of any of the videos I included for this month’s Summing It Up post. Until next time, friends! 😀

31 thoughts on “Summing It Up: June 2016

  1. amortalreader1 says:

    Sounds like you’ve had a busy month, I hope you manage to find time to relax in between all the work hours you will be doing. 7 days a week is a-lot and I understand what that can be like, make sure you are taking some time to yourself at night if you can to relax and wind down. Don’t burn yourself out before the next semester 🙂
    My work hours are going to be going up even more too so I am either going to attempt to schedule posts or just post less as well, I haven’t really decided yet.
    Also congratulations on 1k followers on instagram, your photos are beautiful!
    p.s I love the agenda and all the stationary you got. Do you use the stickers to decorate your planner or? I see some people really decorate their planners and I wish I was as good at being creative!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Summer @ Xingsings says:

      Aww, thank you, Hannah! I have a pretty good job that pays well so I can’t really complain, but thank you for the sweet advice. Work is already starting to lighten up. 🙂 And in the past when I was busy with school and work, I’d schedule posts a lot (and to this day I do it for all my posts); I do recommend trying it. And thanks so much! That really means a lot. ^.^ Ah yes, I like to use my stickers for the monthly view of my planners and also when I’m writing letters to my friends. Decorating a planner is quite time consuming so I usually forgo any inspirations to do so (and look at the pretty photos other people post on Instagram). Using stickers is an easy and fast way to have some fun though!

      Liked by 1 person

      • amortalreader1 says:

        I know right, I wish I had time or the creative skills to decorate my planner. I never do but I might get some new stationary and stickers to try and make it look a bit prettier, maybe then I will remember to look at it more because it will look pretty on the inside.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Fatima @ NoteablePad says:

    Sounds like you’ve had an incredibly busy month! I completely understand your decision to not post as much. It’s a great that you’re even posting and commenting with such a busy schedule. Little Summer is absolutely adorable, by the way! As are those pins and stickers. Definitely need to consider buying from that Etsy shop 🙂
    I’m guessing you’re really excited about EXO’s comeback? The choreography for Monster is amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Summer @ Xingsings says:

      I hadn’t anticipated in it being so, but this summer has been incredibly busy. Compared to last year during this time, the blog has certainly digressed in churning out posts but I guess it’s something that I have to accept. 😅 I was never this bad at replying to comments. 🙈 Sigh. Anyway, thank you so much for understanding and the encouragement, Fatima! ❤

      Ah, thank you! And YES! I am still experiencing the post comeback high right now. I’ve been listening to the Korean CD in my car nonstop. And Monster’s choreo was excellent but a big surprise as well; I had no idea what to expect with the darker concept. 😄

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Lais says:

    Congrats on 1K followers on Instagram! And, also, I hope you have a great summer and find time to relax between all the work!
    AND, OHHH, EXO’S COMEBACK! I absolutely loved this new concept, but I have to admit, I prefer Monster?! I’m not usually a fan of darker concepts, but I really enjoyed this new one. And your albums look so pretty! KPOP albums are pretty expensive where I live, so I can only appreciate them from afar.
    By the way, have you listened to Taeyeon’s new single? I’m obsessed with WHY and that’s pretty much what I’ve been listening on replay for the last few days, hahah.
    Great post, Summer!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Summer @ Xingsings says:

      Aww, thank you so much, Lais!

      AND RIGHT! I’m not a fan of most dark concepts but I feel like a to SM artists pull them off well (like F(X) with Red Light and Taemin and Sayonara Hitori). Oh no! I’m sorry to hear that. I have to be honest that I don’t own that many K-pop albums since the shipping is outrageous to receive things from overseas where I live. These are the only albums I purchased myself; I’ve received others as gifts when my friend visited Korea though.

      And I have been listening to Taeyeon’s single!! I love Why and Starlight so much. Her voice is so beautiful, and they make up perfect summer songs. ^.^

      Like

  4. Marie @ drizzleandhurricanebooks says:

    Wishing you all the best for work and don’t forget to relax, it can only be good to take a step back once in a while. I’m doing that too, well, a little bit ahah, and I hope it’ll be okay.
    HUGE CONGRATS on the followers on instagram, you deserve them all, your pictures are always SO good ❤
    I’m glad to hear everything went okay with your mom.
    All the best for July, Summer, I miss you! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jeann @ Happy Indulgence says:

    It definitely sounds like you’ve been super busy Summer, but we totally understand! It’s so good of you to help out with the family business. It’s definitely been a sad few months in the US, I cried after those shootings and especially with Christina Grimmie’s – I have been a big fan of hers. You seriously have the best instagram props, Summer! I definitely need those page flags!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Summer @ Xingsings says:

      Thank you so much for the support, Jeann! It really means a lot! And yes, June was certainly depressing with all the events (not just in the US but around the world as well). And I’m so sorry to hear that; I knew Christina Grimmie had a lot of fans. She was so, so talented! Aww, thank you! ^.^

      Like

  6. Thuong Le says:

    It sounds like your going to have a pretty busy Summer ahead 🙂 Your nails look awesome! Congrats again for hitting 1K on instagram! Those stickers and pins are so cute. Your new stationary notebooks are adorable! I’m the opposite, I’m not that close with my dad and the last time I saw him was last year 😐 need to make more of an effort to keep in contact. Great summing up post ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Summer @ Xingsings says:

      Thank you so much, Thuong! ❤ I can’t believe it but I actually have only two weeks before I return to school. I’ll be working some but definitely less than I have before, so I’m looking forward to what i can do with the remainder of my summer. And aww, thank you! And, oh my, I’m sorry to hear that. I hope you get to see him more this year when you have the time. I’m sure he misses you! 🙂

      Like

Blogging takes hours, commenting takes minutes. Please don't hesitate to share your thoughts. ^.^

