Book Haul: August + September + October 2016

book-haul_-august-september-october-2016

Hi! It’s been a minute since I’ve last shared a book haul, and I can proudly admit that’s because I haven’t been buying that many books (well at least not all at once like how I used to splurge). AND I didn’t get a single magnetic bookmark these past three months. pat on the back

In this post, you’ll notice that I’ve been striving to purchase more adult books since I noticed that the majority of my bookcase houses YA literature, which isn’t a bad thing at all. However, I do want to branch out and give non-YA books a chance, too. Also, I’ve been keen on filling in the gaps in my manga series. Though, unfortunately, the dreaded “related suggestions” with online shopping has had me started buying new series as well, which kind of defeats the purpose of buying the volumes to complete the old ones I’ve been collecting. Lol, the struggle is real. Anyway, so there will be a number of (new and old) manga titles featured in this post!

But even with that being said, knowing me I still bought some YA books because they were probably on sale and too good of deals to pass up on. (Except Crooked Kingdoms-I had to snag a copy regardless if it was a bargain or not for obvious reasons.) Many of the YA titles were unsolicited physical ARCs from various publishers though, and I did request the last several eARCs myself. (Thank you to all the publishers for these review copies!)

And that’s pretty much it. I’m going to cut the typing here and keep it short this time. Like always, all links go to Goodreads (and Myanimelist if it’s a manga). Hope you all enjoy the photos! 🙂

Processed with MaxCurve

Drug Information | Pharmaceutical Calculations | Applied Pharmaceutics and Contemporary Compounding | Medical Terminology | Biochemistry

L-DK | Yona of the Dawn | The Song of Achilles | Infinite Jest

L-DK (GRs / MAL| Yona of the Dawn (GRs / MAL| Night Circus | The Song of Achilles | Infinite Jest

Processed with MaxCurve

Vampire Knight (GRs / MAL) | Kamisama Kiss (GRs / MAL) | Yona of the Dawn (GRs / MAL)

Processed with MaxCurve

Saving Mr. Terupt (RC – July 2015) | Pop Manga Coloring Book | Genki (Level 1)

Beast

Beast (ARC – October 2016)

Processed with MaxCurve

The Secret Life of Lincoln James (ARC – October 2016)

The Sun is Also a Star

The Sun is Also a Star (ARC – November 2016)

when-the-moon-was-ours-new-1

When the Moon Was Ours (eARC – October 2016) (my review)

midnighthour_final-cvr_revised

Midnight Hour (eARC – October 2016) (my review)

roseblood

RoseBlood (eARC – January 2017)

gildedcageuscover

Gilded Cage (eARC – February 2017)

bone1

Wintersong (eARC – February 2017)

35 thoughts on “Book Haul: August + September + October 2016

  1. Fadwa (Word Wonders) says:

    This is one hell of a haul !! ❤
    Most of these books are either ones I read and enjoyed or ones that I can’t wait to snatch !!
    I’ve actually been trying to branch out of the YA genre as well, just to see whatelse is out there and I’m loving the books I picked up this far!
    Oh, btw ! What’s your field of studies? The books picked my curiosity hahaha

    Liked by 1 person

    • Summer @ Xingsings says:

      Hehe, well thank you, Fadwa! ^.^ I’m so glad to hear that you’ve enjoyed the ones you’ve read from this post; hopefully, I will too then. And I’m currently a graduate/professional student studying pharmacy. For undergraduate, I was a chemistry and pharmaceutical sciences major. What about you?

      Like

  2. Lois says:

    Are you feeling okay? 3 months without buying a magnetic bookmark, I am impressed and slightly worried haha. As always this is one impressive haul. I’m quite proud of myself cause I’ve only purchased two books in the past two months. I’m trying to tackle my tbr list before buying anymore. Also your pictures are stunners. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Summer @ Xingsings says:

      Make that four months! I only recently broke this streak when I bought bookmarks for Christmas presents (and that led me to buying a few new sets for myself). AND TWO BOOKS FOR TWO MONTHS? Ugh, that is so ideal (especially for my wallet). Thank you, Lois!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Reg @ She Latitude says:

    Crooked Kingdom looks so beautiful. I haven’t read any book in that series and I kind of want to, kind of not, but. 😍

    Also Kamisama Kiss is one of my favourite comfort shoujo mangas. I’ve forgotten about it until this post – I really should catch up!

    Liked by 1 person

      • Reg @ She Latitude says:

        Oooh, has it finished? I dropped Kamisama Kiss at about chapter 100-120ish because it was getting sooo long and waiting for updates was agony, but perhaps it’s a good time to pick it up again. I feel like the LONGEST EVER series is still Skip Beat! though (when we talk about more newer manga releases). 😛

        Like

  4. Zoe says:

    AHH SO MANY FABULOUS BOOKS! Crooked Kingdom and the Lunar Chronicles series are two of my favorites, so I hope you end up enjoying them as much as I did. 🙂 And Wintersong and Rose Blood are two of my most anticipated books so I’m crossing my fingers that they end up being as good as they sound. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous post! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Summer @ Xingsings says:

      I managed to read Crooked Kingdom, and gah, it was so good! Even though the new year is fast approaching, I haven’t had a chance to start Winterson and Rose Blood yet but I’m so excited. Hopefully, they’ll live up to our expectations. As always, thank you for reading and commenting, Zoe. ❤

      Like

  5. amortalreader1 says:

    lovely haul! I love how you incorporated the medical terminology books etc are these your books to school? I always like to see what books people need to buy for studying!
    Night Circus, I still haven’t read that! I’ve heard so many amazing things about it though so excited to see what you think as well. Hey you might even finally be the one to convince me to buy it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Summer @ Xingsings says:

      Thank you, Hannah! Yup, the medical terminology textbook was, indeed, for school. I try to not buy as few texts as possible since they’re so expensive. /shakes fist in the air/

      Haha, I feel both happy and bad that I’ve encouraged you to spend money on a book. These book sprees are certainly contagious.

      Liked by 1 person

Blogging takes hours, commenting takes minutes. Please don't hesitate to share your thoughts. ^.^

