Summing It Up: May 2017

May was a marvelously restful month for me. On the 1st I took the last exam of my P1 year and started my summer soon after that. The rest of the month I (re)read a lot of Dessen (my favorite YA realistic fiction/contemporary author if you haven’t caught on by now), met up with some longtime friends, and relaxed. This is my last week of freedom, however, since I’ll be starting my summer community pharmacy rotation this approaching Monday, June 5th. I’m both nervous and excited but mostly thrilled since I was very lucky to get the site I wanted with this cycle. I won’t be working long hours as I thought I would so this may mean I’ll be around the blogosphere in June.

Anyway, I have lots of (different and kind of strange) favorites this month so let’s move on!

– What I Read –

I’m quite impressed with this reading month despite there being only 4 titles read. I’ve been meaning to have a true Dessen summer (where I reread some of Dessen’s old releases and review them) for years now. Also, in case you missed my review or only read the bold parts of that one, I mentioned that I was extremely thankful and happy that I was granted access to an eARC of Once and for All. I consider this a pivotal milestone in my blogging career. :’)

– May Blog Posts –

I daresay May wasn’t that shabby of a blogging month for me since I posted several reviews (mostly for blog tours but still) and even released a discussion post. Speaking of that Summer Says post… I just wanted to quickly thank you guys for the response towards it! I have to admit that my corner of the blogosphere has been a little dead since I’ve stopped interacting like I used to and a lot of my original friends are no longer blogging, but I am so grateful for those that read that post. You all are awesome! T_T

– Favorites –

Have you guys heard of gaining the infamous Freshman 15? My weight didn’t fluctuate from when I was in high school during undergrad… since I’m pretty health conscientious with food and I used to exercise daily. However, ugh, I’m not proud of this… but I didn’t exactly adopt the best habits with my first year of graduate school. With me often having late night study sessions (which meant late night snacking) and incorporating very little cardio in my schedule I gained 10 pounds. Therefore I’ve been more or less on a diet, which has also naturally meant I’ve been cooking more (mostly to counteract my recent weight gain but also to help me feel healthier). I’m not a great cook but easy, simple dishes are in the compass of my skills. And so far it’s been good! I do have my cheat days because you guys know I cannot give up my sweets. XD

I’m very predictable when it comes to clothes. I only really shop at Loft (for everything pretty much), American Eagle (for jeans), and Urban Outfitters (for Adidas stuff). Because we have to wear a lot of “professional” clothes in school, I’ve been more dependent on Loft these days. I love how stylish and youthful they make business casual clothes look. Anyway, I went a little crazy and bought several things from there in May, including this blouseI did try it on but I decided to put the stock photo with the model since it shows the top better than the embarrassing mirror selfie I took.

I also wound up purchasing this entire outfit from Loft when it was 50% off. I’m usually not big on statement skirts like this one but the floral pattern looked so fun for the summer that I couldn’t pass up. I also tried the chambray top and liked its oversized look..

This was a treat to myself for finishing my first year of graduate/professional school. It’s a muted pink and floral wallet from Kate Spade! I’ve been meaning to get one to match my purse for a while now so I was glad to find this one that I’ve been eyeing go on sale. (And I had a nice additional promotion code too.)

I buy a new school agenda every year. I’ve tried a lot of different ones throughout the years but I decided to go with Ban.Do again. Their agendas are super fun because they’re already decorated on the inside. And I love that they aren’t spiral bound because I’m right handed and spiral coils get in the way when I write. Another bonus: it’s small and compact.

– Video Favorites –

I’m not really into girl groups and I’ve long since stopped keeping track with new K-pop groups (I still find it so weird that most of the members are now younger than me), but a group called Pristin caught my eye recently with this song, “Black Widow.” The song is very typical K-pop, but the choreo is pretty badass. And I always prefer it when girl groups try the darker concepts.)

This has been one of my favorite choreographies for months now but with each Summing It Up I kept forgetting to include it. So here it is! Yoojung and Koosung are so adorable together. (Okay, wow. I’m only realizing now that their names rhymes. Cute.)

I didn’t know I needed this subunit in my life until they debuted. Hyuna (formerly part of a disbanded group called 4Minute), E’Dawn, and Hui (both in Pentagon) all have amazing chemistry and strong stage presence. I guarantee that “365 Fresh” (as well as the other tracks on the 199X EP) are going to be my summer 2017 jam.

You guys know how I get with anime soundtracks… Anyway, A Silent Voice‘s really embodies what the story is. It’s soft, hopeful, and reflects Shoya and Shoko’s friendship perfectly.

Edit 6/2/17: The original video which had the entire soundtrack was taken down because of copyright… The replacement video I’m linking is just a cover of one of the songs. It’s still beautiful nonetheless.

I’ve always known that Nu’Est existed but never really got into them. After Produce 101 Season 2 I’ve grown to appreciate the members more. I wish that Pledis (their company) promoted them better. I mean they debuted the same year as Exo yet I’ve never come across them in shows or CFs. Anyhow, with that mini rant aside, some of the members being on this survival show got me to rediscover their last comeback title song called “Love Paint.” And right now it’s the most played song that I listened to this month.

Side note: Oh and with this “Love Paint” video as well as the Produce 101 show, I’ve become utterly obsessed with a cute smol bean named JR (real name: Kim Jong Hyun). (He’s the rapper with blue hair in the video above.) He’s just so kind and humble and goofy and hardworking and… the list goes on. T_T Of course, my top bias from K-pop will forever be Zhang Yi Xing but JR is becoming a strong contender. (I previously said that Kang Daniel was my favorite from Produce 101 Season 2… but you guys know how I am with these male Korean idols… It doesn’t take much for me to fangirl over these men, lol.)

I mean who could dislike this adorable human being? (JR. The. Living. Wartortle.) (But, seriously, he’s been in 1st place for the previous two weeks of Produce 101. I’m so pleased that he’s finally getting the recognition he deserves. Fingers crossed that he remains a part of the top 11 by the end.)

Every time this piano version of “Pick Me” played in the background of an episode of Produce 101 Season 2 I would get teary eyed since this is the main theme that would appear during eliminations. It’s hard getting used to the fact that this is survival program meaning contestants will get eliminated. After learning the trainees’ backgrounds and their desperation to achieve their dreams of becoming idols, viewers like me get attached to them.

Overall, Produce 101 is doing terrible things to my heart. Though I have my own 11 that I’m rooting for as the final group, whatever the outcome may be I wish for the success of all the contestants after the show. This season has more talented trainees compared to the first, in my opinion, and the hard work these boys put in their performances shows onscreen. I’m also in awe with how genuinely positive, supportive, and modest they are. (There are secret hidden cameras that show behind the scenes footage.) Not once has someone bashed another contestant or brought another down. When someone loses or is eliminated, that person always believes that he’s lacking. Anyway, it breaks my heart to see how much backlash and hate some of them get. The controversies/scandals/drama that have emerged with this season is absolutely ridiculous, too.

Produce 101 isn’t an easy show to watch… but finding stuff like this balances things out. 😛

– What I’ve Been Watching –

As just mentioned, I’m currently watching Produce 101 Season 2 but I won’t be including it in this section since this is normally reserved for Asian dramas/films and anime.

Anonymous Noise5/10 [Dropped]

I was so invested in this anime when it first aired because romances with musical backstories are exactly my style. (Nana, anyone?) As I was waiting for the next episode to release I went ahead and picked up the manga. But, unfortunately, after realizing that I was going to have severe second lead syndrome and my preferred OTP wasn’t going to happen I decided to drop the show. Also, this anime is a great example of a story that is better left as a manga. The constant “LaLaLa” humming was crazy cringeworthy. By the fifth episode I couldn’t handle any more of it.

A Silent Voice8/10 [Completed]

What a beautiful film this was. :’) A Silent Voice is an incredible manga series so I knew that this was going to be a challenge to adapt-especially since there are seven volumes worth of material in total. But, overall, Kyoto Animation did a fantastic job with fitting most of the relevant parts into two hours. Though I did feel like the film could be a bit confusing for viewers that haven’t read the manga. Like most book into movie adaptations, readers of the series have more of glimpse on the main characters’ inner turmoil and will sympathize with them easier. For this one in particular, the bullying during the elementary years was presented to be much more severe in the manga than the film since the latter used only a time lapse. In addition readers of the manga will understand the motives and shortcomings in the supporting characters’ roles more than in the animation. Therefore I’m going to just give this a solid 8 for now. Despite the few reservations I had with A Silent Voice, the movie, for how it was adapted from manga to animation, I 10/10 would recommend this.

Trailer:

Attack on Titan (Season 2)?/10 [Currently Watching]

I’m currently watching this with my dad. (He’s loving it by the way.) In comparison to season 1, I surprisingly still think I’m liking this one less… I don’t know. There are still a few episodes left but I have a terrible feeling that Eren is not going to get to use his key in this arc. (I haven’t read the manga so no spoilers please.)  -___-

I’m Your Destiny?/10 [Currently Watching]

The description of this one sounded so absurd that I had to try it. It’s about two people that have had terrible luck in love because they are actually destined to be life partners. The extra punch is that there’s a figure in this (God) that approaches the male lead and convinces him to get together with the female lead not only because they’re fated to be together but because their baby will save the world in the future. Anyway, aside from the male lead and the God’s chemistry as well as their superb acting (Kazuya Kamenashi and Tomohisa Yamashita were both in Nobuta wo Produce together years ago), this is kind of mediocre but amusing at the same time. The female lead has a horrible personality, however. I understand her skepticism towards falling in love after several failed relationships but she overreacts way too much. I’m only going to continue watching this because Yamapi is in it and he’s a total cutie. Also his antics as God is so freaking hilarious.

K2, The4/10 [Dropped]

The K2 was utterly disappointing! Ji Chang Wook is, hands down, my favorite Korean actor of all time. (Gah, he’s gorgeous.) I thought he did a pretty good job as he always does in his action roles but I just didn’t vibe with the rest of the cast. Aside from Chang Wook’s character, K2, the only other person that kept me intrigued was the female villain that was sort of in love with him (not Yoona’s character but her character’s stepmom). Speaking of Yoona’s role, the K2’s main love interest… I don’t know if it was Yoona’s acting or her character’s personality but she was irritating to say the least. After the 12th episode I was so done with waiting for her character to reach its much needed development. In addition, it upset me that there was so much back and forth with the plot. Viewers were so close to getting to a pivotal climax scene with the showdown between the K2 and the bad guys… and things finally getting resolved… but then that scene would be a false alarm and the plot would withdraw to a safer plotline. Basically, nothing important seemed to happen.

Six Flying Dragons7/10 [Dropped]

I was getting really far into this one because I love long historical dramas (like a lot). This one was very political and intriguing, but unfortunately my interest started to wane with each new episode. Also it bothered me that most of the episodes were ending on misleading cliffhangers… I may return to this one someday because I really, really liked the antiheroes that made up the cast but for now it’s a pass.

Suspicious Partner?/10 [Currently Watching]

I knew I had to begin watching this K-drama since my bae, Ji Chang Wook, is the male lead. (And it’s his first rom-com!) JCW’s mentioned that he’s sort of tired of being type casted into action roles and he’s been waiting for a role like this, so I’m really anticipating how he plans to portray a character ironically named, “Ji Wook.” There’s a murder mystery subplot… and I’m known to not like mysteries/thrillers… but, so far so good! It’s actually pretty darn cute and funny. This is my first Nam Ji Hyun drama but she’s gorgeous and I love her eclectic business attire style as an attorney, haha.

Trailer(s):


And that covers my May! I hope everyone had just as awesome a month as I did! What trends did you enjoy? Any cool movies/shows I should check out? Let me know how you’ve been! And, as always, thanks for tuning in and checking out this monthly recap/wrap up/favorites. 🙂

28 thoughts on “Summing It Up: May 2017

  1. Marie says:

    HI Summer! I’m so happy you had a relaxing month and I hope everything will go well starting June 5th and your community pharmacy rotation!
    I love how your month was very, well, Dessen-like, ahah. I’m hoping to read more of her books this summer for sure! 🙂
    Oh, these clothes look GREAT, I love that skirt and the wallet you bought it awesome. Also, yay for agendas! I love small, compact agendas and notebooks as well.
    I hope you’ll have a lovely June! ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Summer @ Xingsings says:

      Hello Marie! Thank you so much. ❤

      Indeed, Dessen took over my bookworm life in May (not that I’m complaining). And yes!! I am looking forward to you reading more of her work. 🙂

      THANK YOU! I was quite a shopaholic this month but I needed new clothes so…

      Exactly! I like smaller ones so that they don’t weigh my book bag down during the school year.

      Thank you! Wishing you the same. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. ravenblake99 says:

    It seems like you had a great month! You’ve read so many sarah Dessen’s books! I haven’t read any of her books but I’m looking forward to read her new book. Suspicious Partner looks like a nice drama. I’ll definitely check it out! 🙂
    Hope you have an awesome June! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Summer @ Xingsings says:

      Thank you, Raven!

      Oh gosh, well you need to remedy that! Her contemporaries are more quiet and subdued but they’re super good!

      And totally! I’d love to hear your thoughts on that drama. It’s just so fluffy and enjoyable. Plus, there’s the adorably handsome Ji Chang Wook in it. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  3. liliananbookish says:

    KIM JONGHYUN IS SUCH AN ADORABLE BALL OF FLUFF I can’t even! /I love this boi so much/ But my personal picks for this season are ONG SEONGWOO a.k.a. Mr. Savage and Shameless, and HWANG MINHYUN (Minhyun of NU’EST) a.k.a. CEO Min.

    We can chat a looooot about Produce 101 Season 2, because I’m watching it, too, and I think I’m waaay to obsessed with it, like, SERIOUSLY. I need SOMEONE to chat with about Produce 101!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Summer @ Xingsings says:

      OH MY GOODNESS. Liliana, where here have you been?! I don’t know anyone that’s watching this and I’ve been looking for someone to discuss/fangirl this show with, too!

      Gah. I couldn’t agree with you more! Ong Seongwoo is so savage but precious. And Minhyun is too darn cute and handsome at the same time. Plus, he’s such an underrated vocalist! Anyway, I really hope they both make it to the final 11 (including my other favorites Daniel, Samuel, Park Woo Jin, and Kim Jaehwan). Do you like any other trainees/contestants?

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Lais says:

    I’m glad you had a great month and a lot of time to chill, Summer. I’m currently waiting desperately for winter break, which starts in two weeks. I already have a thousand different plans on what I want to do with all of the free time ahead of me, hahah.
    The only book I’ve read by Sara Dessen was Saint Anything and I found it good, but not excelent. I just think I’m used to a different type of contemporary stories, with shorter chapters and a more teenagery drama (I found the atmosphere from Saint Anything to be quite heavy). I still enjoyed the writing, though, and if you have any recommendations, I’d gladly take them!
    I have not watched Produce 101 because of all the controversy around it, but I hope everything works well for the Nu’Est members. I’ve seen a few clips on internet and they’re a talented group who definitely deserved more from their company. Hopefully, they’ll be able to shine brighter because of the show.
    I hope you have a fantastic month of June! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Summer @ Xingsings says:

      Oh gosh, I always forget that the season and weather can be just the opposite on the other side of the world. Well I hope the countdown to your winter break is not too long for now! Hang in there, Lais!

      I completely feel you on Saint Anything. That was actually the first Sarah Dessen book I wrote a review on. In fact, I believe it was one of the very first book reviews I had ever written. I digress… Anyway, I also thought it wasn’t that spectacular but I did like the dark elements. I remember a character named Ames was super creepy. And there was definitely mention of pizza. 😉

      There has been a lot of scandals/controversies with the contestants of Produce 101 and it makes me sad seeing as a lot of them garnering a lot of hate when they are so young. With that being said though, all the confirmed accusations of certain trainees bullying and harassing other people is not a good thing and I’m not saying it’s okay at all, but it is also sad that their public image will forever be marked because such things came up while they were on the show. And I totally agree with you on Nu’Est needing more exposure. They’re so talented and deserve way, way more.

      Thank you, Lais! Same to you. Cheers! 🙂

      Like

  5. Jeann @ Happy Indulgence says:

    YAY, congrats on the last exam of the year Summer! I’ve only read 2 books by Sarah Dessen but I really enjoyed them. Many people have stopped blogging but it doesn’t mean we can make new friends too! It’s hard though, I haven’t been feeling very inspired lately either.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Summer @ Xingsings says:

      Hehe, thank you, Jeann!

      Oh my gosh, I feel you! You’ve been blogging longer than I have but I think I’m now at the awkward slumpy stage with my blogging. I haven’t really felt like writing reviews or posting (or even reading that much lately) but I’m not ready to give up this hobby just yet either.

      Like

  6. Lois says:

    That statement skirt is absolutely gorgeous!!! That entire outfit is a beaut but that skirt is to die for, even thought I rarely wear skirts haha. I so get what you mean about bad eating habits at university. I was terrible. I’d come home from a lecture and if my housemates were ordering take out I’d do that instead of cook. So since graduating I’ve been trying to get back into eating healthier and to start that I’ve cut out the silly snacking. I go on walks most days but I’ve also added some at home work outs in between.

    Good luck with rotation today. You’ll be great. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Summer @ Xingsings says:

      Thank you, Lois!! Though unfortunately… I had to return the skirt. It wasn’t lined underneath and I thought that that wasn’t going to be a problem since the pattern of the fabric didn’t make things see through but the open slit was a little too revealing for windy days, which we have a lot here.

      Haha, eating out with friends was certainly my weakness and the source of my weight gain. XD But that’s great that you’ve been eating healthier! I’ve started cutting back on the bad foods but I’m still struggling with giving my frappuccinos (and my latest fixation, macchiatos) up since you know I love them. 😉

      Aww, THANK YOU, Lois! ❤ ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lois says:

        Ah that’s such a shame about the skirt.

        My weakness is when mam is home and she bakes. She makes the best cakes, with me as her assistant haha. I try to be good but it’s so hard to resist!!!

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Aimal @ Bookshelves & Paperbacks says:

    Summer! Congratulations on finishing your first year of grad school – that’s huge, and I’m so happy for you! I’m glad that May was a restful month; it was similar with me, though the first half of May was chock-full of cramming and final-taking.

    It’s a little weird that I’ve been reading YA for so long now, but I’ve never picked up a Sarah Dessen book. Do you have any recs as to where to start?

    I hope June’s a good month for you! ❤

    ~ Aimal @ Bookshelves & Paperbacks

    Liked by 1 person

    • Summer @ Xingsings says:

      Aimal, thank you so much! This first year was a struggle but also very fun, too. (Also speaking of grad school… I believe I read a post of yours way back that said you decided that you were going to pursue medical school? I can’t remember if I ever commented on that post but I just wanted to say that I AM SO PROUD OF YOU for taking that plunge. Good luck with taking the MCAT and preparing to apply! Any school would be lucky to have you, seeing as you’re so articulate and smart.)

      Oh gosh, I feel you. May is a horrible month for college students, huh? I do hope your exams turned out okay though! 🙂

      I highly recommend Just Listen! But my other favorites by Sarah Dessen are The Truth About Forever and Along for the Ride as well. 🙂

      Omg, it’s been so long since I’ve last talked to you. (In fact, you know it’s been a while when the thing autocorrects your name to “animal” ugh -_____-) Anyway, I hope that you’re well! And having a relaxing summer. ❤

      Like

  8. Yani says:

    I didn’t like K2 also! But I love love love Healer! Have you watched it? Anyway, I’ll be watching Suspicious Partner when I’m done with Love in the Moonlight. #JiChangWookFTW

    Liked by 1 person

    • Summer @ Xingsings says:

      Yesss, another Ji Chang Wook fangirl! >.< Actually I have watched Healer! Although, it reminded me a lot of City Hunter, and I thought Park Min Young had better onscreen chemistry with Lee Min Ho than JCW… but I still enjoyed it regardless. I hope you like Suspicious Partner when you get to it. Ji Chang Wook is ever so dreamy in that one. :’)

      Like

Blogging takes hours, commenting takes minutes. Please don't hesitate to share your thoughts. ^.^

