Top Ten Tuesday: Great Beach Reads (Dessen Edition) and Books I Plan to Have in My Beach Bag This Summer

Screen Shot 2015-04-20 at 9.12.07 PM

Hi! So I took a break from posting Top Ten Tuesday, a weekly bookish meme by The Broke and the Bookish, for the past month but I’m back because I couldn’t pass up talking about this week’s feature: “Ten Books I Think Make Great Beach Reads or Ten Books I Plan to Have in My Beach Bag This Summer.”

I’ve been in a Sarah Dessen mood ever since reading Saint Anything the beginning of this month so I thought I’d make a mini-list of Great Beach Reads, Sarah Dessen style. I also included 10 Books I Plan to Have in My Beach Bag This Summer (basically, a peek of my summer TBR).

Okay, let’s do this!


5 Great Beach Reads (Sarah Dessen Edition)

IMG_2842As you guys know, I’m a huge Sarah Dessen fan and I think her books would make perfect summer reads.

My favorite is, obviously, The Truth About Forever but Just Listen and This Lullaby both come as close favorites. Along For the Ride and Saint Anything didn’t make me as awestruck with the story but they both still showcased Dessen’s beautiful and lyrical writing and proved that they were enjoyable when I read them.

As for the other titles, it’s been at least 5+ years since I’ve read them so I can’t exactly recommend them since I can’t remember. And I still haven’t read Dreamland or The Moon and More yet.


10 Books I Plan to Have in My Beach Bag This Summer

So most of the books on my summer TBR are pretty much fun, light contemporary reads. There’s even some humor in the adult ones.


I made this week’s list much shorter and less detailed than I normally do with T10T posts mainly because I feel like I overwrite and sound repetitive in my older ones. So I’m working on being more pithy and concise. I hope you guys don’t mind this new format!

And what do you guys plan to read this summer? I’d love to know! 😀


FullSizeRender 4

the #bookishflip tag

Blog @xingsings | Instagram @readxings | Twitter @xingxings